Awards and Highlights - June 2015

College of Communication and Fine Arts

Al Wildey

Al Wildey receives award in International Photographic Competition

CMU photography professor Al Wildey has been awarded second place in the abstract category of the Florida Museum of Photographic Arts International Photographic Competition. His artwork will be displayed in an exhibit until July 31.


College of Education and Human Services

AAUA award

Maureen MacGillivray featured on the cover of Specialty Fabrics Review

CMU apparel merchandising and design professor Maureen MacGillivray is pictured on the cover of the June issue of Specialty Fabrics Review for her military project focused on outfitting soldiers in all branches of the military. View the story of her research and apparel design work here.


College of Humanities and Social and Behavioral Sciences

Hope May

Hope May speaks at Peace Palace Library

CMU philosophy professor Hope May was a guest speaker at a three-day master class at the Peace Palace Library in The Hague, Netherlands. The class and lectures focused on the centenary of the International Congress of Women of 1915. It highlighted a number of themes including the activism of Bertha von Suttner and its connection to the International Congress of Women and the partnership between men and women.


Awards and Highlights will be updated on a monthly basis. To be included in this month's update, please submit your accomplishment by the 15th of the month to Steve Smith at​. Any submissions submitted after the 15th of the month will be included in next month's update.

Central Michigan University • 1200 S. Franklin St. • Mount Pleasant, Mich. 48859 • 989-774-4000