Awards and Highlights - March 2017

School of Music faculty member featured in 'Porgy and Bess'

LaToya Lain was a featured soprano soloist in six performances of Gershwin's "Porgy and Bess" in the Haifa Congress Center in Haifa and the Charles Bronfman Performance Hall in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Marketing faculty member awarded Best Article of the Year

Rebecca Dingus, marketing, received national recognition for her article "Social Media: Influencing Customer Satisfaction in B2B Sales" when it won Best Article of the Year from the Industrial Marketing Management's February 2016 edition. The article examined how the use of social media may yield positive results for sales organizations if salespeople utilize it in facilitating their behaviors.

School of Music alumna sings with the Boston Symphony Orchestra

Emily Marvosh, '03, sang with the Lorelei Ensemble, a professional vocal ensemble comprising nine women, and the Boston Symphony Orchestra in the premiere of George Benjamin's "Dream of the Song."

Educational leadership student awarded national scholarship

Adam Bayne, currently enrolled in the CMU Doctor of Education program in educational leadership, was awarded a $2,500 scholarship from the American Association of School Administrators Annual Conference on Leadership in New Orleans. The scholarship award recognizes outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to become superintendents within their career.

School of Music alumnus places second in national solo competition

Evan Harris placed second in the Music Teachers National Association National Solo Competition held in Baltimore, Maryland, on March 20. Harris plays the soprano saxophone at the University of Oklahoma, where, after graduation, he followed his mentor and fellow alumnus, Jonathan Nichol. Harris' Stentorian Saxophone Quartet also placed third in the chamber music competition.

MHTV wins College Station of the Year

The student-run station MHTV received the honor from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation for the unprecedented 16th year in a row. The award recognizes the strong and consistent work by BCA students in both MHTV and "News Central 34" under the guidance of faculty members Aaron Jones, Eric Limarenko and Rick Sykes.

Educational leadership faculty wins Best-in-Track sessions award

Mark Deschaine, educational leadership, won the Best-in-Track sessions honor awarded by the Online Learning Consortium. The Online Learning Consortium will gather the online learning community in New Orleans April 5 through 7 for OLC Innovate, where Deschaine will present his session, "Supporting Students with Disabilities in Online Environments," in the pedagogical innovation track.

School of Music alumnus receives rave reviews for 'Jekyll & Hyde: The Musical'

Nate Hackmann, '04, '06, is earning terrific reviews for his role as the curious Dr. Henry Jekyll and the evil Edward Hyde. The musical is showing at the Engeman Theatre in Washington, D.C., under direction of Paul Stancato until April 30.

CMU Public Broadcasting earns recognition from Michigan Association of Broadcasters

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters has recognized CMU Public Radio and CMU Public Television for broadcast excellence, honoring them with seven awards. CMU Public Broadcasting won the following awards at the MAB's Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference in Lansing.

CMU Public Radio

  • Best: Feature/Use of Medium, "Shipwreck Tourism" by Ben Thorp
  • Best: Membership Appeal, "Match Promo" by Rick Westover
  • Merit: Hard News and Current Events, "Purple Mats" by Ben Thorp
  • Merit: Membership Appeal, "Warm Hearts 1" by Amy Robinson and Rick Westover
  • Merit: Musical Programming, "The Set List – Orlando" by Rick Westover

CMU Public Television

  • Best: Use of New Media, "Destination Michigan social media promotion" by Matthew Ozanich and Chris Ogozaly
  • Merit: Community Involvement, "Highlight reel of the station's community outreach activities including CMU's Grandparents U" by Chris Ogozaly, Daniel Bracken, Stefanie Mills, Steven Smith and Matthew Ozanich