Awards and Highlights - May 2017

Broadcast and Cinematic Arts faculty speak at Popular Culture Association annual conference 

Mark Poindexter and William Anderson presented at the Popular Culture Association annual conference in San Diego, California. Poindexter's presentation was titled "The Other 1950s: Socio-Economic Class on TV," and Anderson presented "Piecing It Together with Matt: Market Success and Reaction of Audio Drama Designed for Autistic/ASD Audiences."

Broadcast and Cinematic Arts faculty speak at Broadcast Education Association Conference

Trey Stohlman, Rick Sykes and Eric Limarenko presented at the Broadcast Education Association Conference in Las Vegas. Stohlman's presentation was titled "In the Beginning: The Genesis of a Television Series;" Sykes presented "Creating an Ongoing Newsroom Learning Experience;" and Limarenko presented "How Emerging Technology is Taking Sports Storytelling to New Heights." Chad Roberts was a panelist for the session "Drop the Mic: Teaching Public Speaking from a Broadcast Performance Perspective." 

Broadcast and Cinematic Arts student selected as student organization president of the year

Justin Steward, a broadcast and cinematic arts senior, was selected as student organization president of the year for his leadership of the CMU National Broadcast Society chapter.

Broadcast and Cinematic Arts faculty member's audio drama selected to compete in Radio Romania Grand Prix Nova

William Anderson's version of "Tortoise and Hare" audio drama was selected to compete in the 2017 Radio Romania Grand Prix Nova. The audio drama was the only American entry selected.

Broadcast and Cinematic Arts faculty member's article published in AEJMC journal

Jeffrey Smith's article "Assessing Creativity: Creating a Rubric to Effectively Evaluate Mediated Digital Portfolio" was published in the spring 2017 edition of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication's Journalism and Mass Communication Educator. 

CMU alumnus awarded Pulitzer Prize in photojournalism 

Jason Wambsgans, 1994 broadcast and cinematic arts alumnus, was awarded a Pulitzer Prize in photojournalism for his Chicago Tribune portraits of a child-shooting victim. 

Read more:

Broadcast and Cinematic Arts faculty receive research grant from FRCE

Patty Williamson and Eric Limarenko's research project "Making Waves: Women on the Radio" received an $8,000 research grant from Faculty Research and Creative Endeavors.

Interior design student receives honorable mention in 2017 SOURCE Awards by Eaton

CMU interior design senior Kassondra Hauck was recently named an honorable mention recipient for the 2017 SOURCE Awards by power management company Eaton for her conceptual lighting design project. Hauck's project, titled "The Community Teen Center," offered a sustainable lighting solution to an interior renovation project in Carson City, Michigan. 

Fashion Merchandising and Design graduate student receives first-place award in 2017 AATCC competition

Alexis Jones received the first-place award in the 2017 American Association of Textiles Chemists Colorists Concept 2 Consumer Merchandising Competition. Jones, under the direction of Professor Jenna Song, was award for her work in the apparel product development class. 

Music faculty member performs on Pipedreams for 14th time

Steven Egler performed in two segments during the May 15 Pipedreams program. This was Elger's 14th performance on Pipedreams.

Music faculty member presents lecture-recital in Faenza, Italy

Alicia Valoti presented a lecture-recital in Faenza, Italy, on "Tartini's influence on voila repertoire and virtuosity." Valoti also performed in a baroque orchestra for soloist Federico Guglielmo while in Italy.

Music alumnus receives teaching award

CMU alumnus Jonathan Nichol was one of two faculty members at the University of Oklahoma awarded the university's Teaching Excellence Award. 

Humanities and Social and Behavioral Sciences faculty member receives teaching award

Leila Ennaili received the 2017 Maroon CHSBS Excellence in Teaching Award. The award recognizes a regular CHSBS faculty member who goes above and beyond what is expected in creating exceptional learning opportunities for students.
Read more:

English professor receives Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association award

Jeffrey Weinstock received the 2017 Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association "Ray & Pat Browne Award" for Best Edited Collection in Popular Culture/American Culture for his 2016 co-edited collection of scholarly essays, "The Age of Lovecraft."

English professor receives Distinguished Professor of the Year award nomination

Maureen Eke was a nominee for the 2017 Distinguished Professor of the Year Award by the Michigan Association of State Universities.

Humanities and Social and Behavioral Sciences faculty member receives teaching award

Joseph Anderson received the 2017 Gold CHSBS Excellence in Teaching Award. The award recognizes a fixed-term CHSBS faculty member who goes above and beyond what is expected in creating exceptional learning opportunities for our students. 
Read more:

CMU alumnus receives teaching assistant award

Foreign Languages, Literatures and Cultures alumnus Brian Olovson received an Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award from the University of Iowa.

Philosophy professor receives Fulbright Program award

The Fulbright Program has awarded philosophy professor Hope May a U.S. Scholar Grant to teach at the Graduate Institute of Peace Studies at Kyung Hee University, Korea. Her project title is "The Virtues of Untold Stories: Peace History of the United States and Korea," and she'll teach in Korea from September through December.

Biology faculty member receives early career award

CMU biologist Xantha Karp received a $740,000 early career award from the National Science Foundation. For the next five years, Karp and her researchers will build on Karp's work in the area of organism development. 
Read more:

Faculty member to launch five-year bacteria research effort

Benjamin Swarts, an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry, will receive $660,000 early career grant over five years to do fundamental research aimed at gaining a better understanding of one-celled bacteria that have been linked to various ailments in humans.
Read more:

CMU receives grant for Great Lakes research

CMU is part of a group of universities receiving $20 million to keep tabs on the Great Lakes. Biologist Don Uzarski, who also directors the CMU Institute for Great Lakes Research, says the recognition is a big feather in CMU's cap.
Read more:

College of Medicine graduates first class of doctors

The CMU College of Medicine made history by graduating its first class of doctors in May 2017.
Read more:

Baja racing team places second in competition

The six-member CMU Baja racing team placed second in the endurance phase of the Society of Automotive Engineers' annual Baja SAE California competition. Overall, CMU finished 19th out of 92 schools from around the world. 

Read more:

Teacher education program receives seven-year accreditation 

CMU's undergraduate teacher education program has received continuing accreditation for seven years by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.
Read more:

Sociology student receives Shapiro Prize in Social and Behavioral Sciences

Leanna Gonino was awarded the $1,000 Shapiro Prize in Social and Behavioral Sciences. The award is given to the student who has written the best social or behavioral science research paper based upon empirical data during the year.

Philosophy and mathematics student receives Gabriel Chien Memorial Fund Scholarship Award

Jonah Branding received the $1,000 Gabriel Chien Memorial Fund Scholarship Award. The scholarship is awarded annually to one student who demonstrates an interest in global and historical perspectives through a written essay.