Construction on Rowe Hall started in the Spring of 1957. The building was designed as the new Teacher Education Center. It housed the College Elementary School, where prospective teachers gained experience working with children, as well as the Department of Psychology and Education. It also housed the departments of Sociology, Economics, and Political Science. The cornerstone of the building contains the signatures of all of the elementary students attending the school in 1958, including a photograph of them.
The building now houses various University offices including Human Resources and the Center for Cultural and Natural History, which is located in the former gymnasium. The museum moved into the building from Ronan Hall in 1975-1976, and re-opened to the public in April 1978. In 1994, the Native American Gallery was dedicated. The gallery was started by a donation from Olga and G. Roland Denison. An office wing addition to the building was destroyed by fire on June 19, 1998.
For information about Rowe Hall: click here