The purposes of this non-profit unincorporated organization are to promote diversity, educational, and cultural awareness through the study, viewing and production of films; furthermore, to offer members special learning opportunities both in and out of the classroom, and to instill a commitment to the highest ideals and principles of students with an intent to pursue a career in, but not limited to, Broadcasting and Cinematic Arts, Theatre, Journalism, Communication, and any other related field. We love movies.
To view the Film Society Constitution click here.

Our organization is renewed with Cody Williams taking over as the President. Our new Vice President is Dani Stafford, our secretary is Alex Carter. New members to our E-board: SBEC Ashley Carey, Fundraising Zach Meyers, and new this year, our Promotions Team Kuke Stanton, Katie Loesel, and Rachel Riehl. We are excited to bring in new members into our organization and continue to build the annual Film Festival, which gained more attendance per film since last year. The 2016 Central Michigan International Film Festival will take place February 5-7 and 11-14. Films will be shown in the same locations as last year: CMU Park Library Auditorium and at Celebration Cinema on Pickard road. For more information on the festival visit www.cmiff.com. We can not wait to head to the Chicago International Film Festival for the 3rd year in a row. During our meetings, we plan on holding film debates, show many more films than last year, competing a semester long film project in both Fall and Spring semesters, as well as competing in and co-hosting the 48 hour Film Competition. For future information about our screenings, send a request to cmufilmsociety@gmail.com to be put on our mailing list. 


We'd like to hear from you!

The Film Society
119 Moore Hall
Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant MI 48859
(989) 774-3851

E-mail: cmufilmsociety@gmail.com


President                               Ashley Carey
Vice President                       Zach Meyers
Secretary                               Katie Losel
SBEC                                      Daniel Marsh
Fundraising                           Zach Meyers
Promotions Team                Daniel Martinez, Marin McGowan,
                                                Branson Kimble, and Collin Lovik 
Film Festival Chair               Geri Gale                                              ​