Student Organizations

​​​​​​​​Students in the journalism department are encouraged to participate in campus affiliate chapters of national professional media organizations such as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Public Relations Student Society of America, the American Advertising Federation, the Central Press Photographers Association, and more.

The following are the contacts for Fall 2015 for the student chapters at CMU:

Society of Professional Journalists:

For more information contact:

President: Arielle Hines ​​

Vice President: Mitchell Kukulk​​​a​ ​​

Secretary: Charnae Sanders

Treasurer: Kelly

Programming Chair: Emily DeRuiter

Recruitment​ Chair: Nicholas Green

​Fundraising: Kevin Andrews ​

Public Relations: James McKinnie​​​

Adviser: Ed Simpson ​

American Advertising Federation:

For more information, contact:

Johnny Sparks, (989) 774-1340 or

Central Press Photographers Association:

If you are photographer and need help getting your foot in the door, let the CPPA help. You will be affiliated with the Michigan Press Photographers Association and the National Press Photographers Association. You will meet once a month and will submit photos to be entered in competitions.

For more information contact:

President: Emily Mesner

Vice President: Claire Abendroth​

Secretary: Rachel Harrison​

Treasurer: Kaytie Boomer​

Recruitment Chair: Katy Kildee​

Contest Chair: Shannon Millard​​

Social Media Chair: Alexandria Rykse​​​


​Public Relations Student Society of America:

For more information contact:

​President: Elisa Pelletier​​

Vice President: Alex Haymaker

Director of Professional Development: Bre Moore​​​

Director of Internal Communications: Halle Sobzcak

Director of Finance: Drew Thomasson​​

​Director of Member Services: Dana Blankenship

Director of Social Media: Madison Hutton​

Director of Recruitment: Lucy Ciaramitaro​

Director of Leadership: Kimberly Sampson​

PR Central:

For more information contact:

​CEO: Rachel Quinn

Vice President of Operations: Jared Martella

Director of Digital Communication: Rachel Felice

Director of Operations: Alex Haymaker​

​Director of Finance: Amy Vos​

Director of Recruitment: Bri Ramal lamar2b@​

Director of Internal Communications: Kayla Collins


Grand Central Magazine:

Editor-in-Chief: Kelsey Smith

Managing Editor: Megan Zaleski

Photo/Multimedia Editor: Rich Drummond

Photo/Multimedia Editor: Anne Langan

Campus Life Editor: Lexi Carter

Arts & Entertainment Editor: Tessa Harvey

Style Editor: Colleen Dluzynski​

Sports Editor: Austin Denean

Food & Beverage Editor: Adriana Cotero

Public Relations:​ Alex Haymaker

Public Relations:​ Taylor McCollom​

Adviser: Steve Coon