​​Assistant Professor of Music Theory/CompositionScott Harding

Scott R. Harding is a lifelong Michigander, born in Bay City and growing up in rural small-towns Auburn and Cass City. Dr. Harding earned the BM in Theory/Composition from Central Michigan University in 1991, studying with award-winning band and percussion composer David R. Gillingham. Dr. Harding also studied percussion with the late Robert Hohner while at CMU, and was a member of the legendary Robert Hohner Percussion Ensemble for five years. Following a compositional “chain-of-command,” Dr. Harding went on to earn the MM and PhD in Composition at Michigan State University, working primarily with Gillingham’s teacher Jere Hutcheson (himself a student of the incomparable H. Owen Reed). Performing remained a strong interest for Harding while at MSU, and he studied traditional percussion with Mark Johnson as well as swing drumset and Afro-Cuban percussion with former Sun Ra and Max Roach percussionist Francisco Mora Catlett.

A 3-year graduate assistantship in aural skills ignited Dr. Harding’s passion for teaching, and he stepped into his current position at CMU while completing his last year of doctoral work in 1998. As a member of the CMU School of Music faculty, Dr. Harding teaches in the core theory/aural skills area, coordinating the ear-training curriculum and working privately with composition majors. He also teaches jazz history, music appreciation and world music as part of the university-wide liberal arts regimen. Dr. Harding’s excellent teaching was acknowledged with a nomination for the 2004-2005 Excellence in Teaching Award, where he ended as a finalist.

As a composer Dr. Harding works consistently with small chamber ensembles, writing music of intricate playfulness, knotted interwoven lines and excellent craftsmanship. He has accepted commissions from colleagues both at CMU and across the country, resulting in the creation of works such as Four Short Dances , Episode I for Clarinet and Electronic Accompaniment , Birdsong, Echoes of Mackinac and Cork Pine Suite . Dr. Harding’s love of percussion is evident in the pounding rhythms of Taiko , Criss and The Summoning Of Katakhanes , as well as in the somber, lyrical strains of his homage to Robert Hohner entitled Eulogy . His music is published by C. Alan Publications of Greensboro NC.

Contact Information

Email: hardi1sr@cmich.edu
Phone: (989) 774-1972
Room: MU 286

Latin Dance Project
Latin Dance Project​​​​​​​​​