For Immediate Release                                                                                 July 9, 2014


School of Music Scholarship Students Perform in Honors Convocation

            The School of Music at Central Michigan University presents its annual Honors Convocation Recital at 11 a.m. Thursday, August 28 in Staples Family Concert Hall. This concert, which is free and open to the public, features 10 of the School of Music's scholarship award students and is the opening performance of the 2014-15 school year.

Honors Convocation showcases some of the School of Music's most academically and musically talented students. Selection as a scholarship award winner and Honors Convocation performer is a significant and distinguished achievement within the School of Music.

Scholarship winners performing include Nicholas Anderson, saxophone; Kai Johnson, percussion; Chelsea Whiteoak, voice; Andrew LaJoie, percussion; Haruki Hakoyama, trumpet; Kelly Staten, voice; Samuel Mitchell, trombone; Erika Kowalski, voice; Dominic Bierenga, saxophone; Adam Ronning, trombone; Kosta Kapellas, bass; and Ruben Shell, guitar. A complete list of scholarship recipients is found below.



Krista Voss

Music Events Office

(989) 774-3281

2014 - 2015 School of Music

Endowed Music Scholarship Recipients

Beveryly A. Gould Chapin Endowed Music Award                                             Rebekah Pauly

Dr. Joseph D. Rivard Performance Award in Jazz                                                   Ruben Shell

Dr. Joseph D. Rivard Promise Award in Jazz                                                            Kosta Kapellas

Grant G. Skomski & Mary Jane Flanagan Award                                                         Kai Johnson

Holen Family Endowed Music Award                                                                 Michael Hamilton

J. Dean and Betty Eckersley Music Scholarship                                                     Sarah Gallaher

Jack Saunders Jazz Award                                                                                    Dominic Bierenga

Joyce E. Hoffer Scholarship                                                                                 Nathaniel Soules

Levi, Mildred and Rusch Dees Endowment/Award                                         Chelsea Whiteoak

Louise A. Plachta Endowed Award                                   Katey Armstrong/Catherine Conners

Mary Ellen and George M. Blackburn Choral Scholar                                           Nathan Kistler

Mary Ellen and George M. Blackburn Choral Scholar                                           Erika Kowalski

Mary Ellen and George M. Blackburn Choral Scholar                                     Cassandra  Smith

Norman C. Dietz Award                                                                Alysa Hoffman/Benjamin Reyhl

Norman Dietz Instrumental Music Leadership Scholarship                                      Keera Allen

Patricia Nixon Memorial Scholarship                                                               Nicholas Anderson

Paul Willwerth Brass Award                                                                                    Samuel Mitchell

Presser Foundation Scholarship                                                                          Dominic Bierenga

R. Cedric Colness Vocal Scholarship                                                 Erika Kowalski/Kelly Staten

Richard D. Featheringham Endowed Scholarship                                             Matthew Benkert

Robert E. McCabe Scholarship                                                                                  Andrew LaJoie

Robert Hays Jazz Award                                                                                        Haruki Hakoyama

William H. Rivard Trombone Endowment                                                             Adam Ronning

Yda Lou Schultz Scholarship                                                                                      Jenna Wojdula