halloffame.jpg              Hopp                Kamidoi              Marquardt           Bila Michels

The CMU Journalism Hall of Fame will induct four new members on Nov. 15.

Neil Hopp, Wayne Kamidoi, Tom Marquardt and Kallie Bila Michels will be honored at the 11th annual Journalism Hall of Fame banquet at 6 p.m. at the Comfort Inn Hotel & Conference Center in Mt. Pleasant.

Hopp, a 1967 graduate, was the former director of student publications at CMU.

He has also worked for The Northwest Herald in Crystal Lake, Ill.; The Leader in Corning, N.Y.; The Times-News in Twin Falls, Idaho; The Sentinel in Carlisle, Pa.; and the Daily Times-News in Mt. Pleasant. 

Hopp also served in the U.S. Army from 1968-1970 and was the recipient of the Bronze Star for his service in Vietnam.

Kamidoi, a 1987 graduate, serves as art director of sports for The New York Times. He has also worked for the Detroit Free Press and Port Huron Times Herald.

He was also part of the visual team that produced “Snow Fall,” which won the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for feature writing; and “Punched Out,” which was a 2012 Pulitzer finalist for feature writing.

Marquardt, a 1970 graduate, is the former editor and publisher of Capital Gazette Communications, Annapolis, Md. He also worked for the Capital in Annapolis, Md.; the Ypsilanti Press and the Big Rapids Pioneer.

He received the National Freedom of Information award from the Society of Professional Journalists for his 1991 involvement in changing Maryland’s Open Meetings Act.

Bila Michels, a 1985 graduate, is associate vice president for communications for the University of Michigan. She also has been serving as interim chief communications officer (CCO) for the U-M Health System while a national search for a permanent CCO is under way.

She also has worked at Anthony Franco Public Relations in Detroit and the Saginaw News.

All four inductees are former CM Life staff members.