​​​​​​Meijer Visiting Writers Series
The Creative Writing program features readings by poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers of national prominence in the Meijer Visiting Writers Series, made possible by a generous grant from the Meijer Foundation.

Meijer Visiting Writers Series readings for Fall 2017:

Author, Sarah Domet

​Thursday, October 12th 8:00pm in Park Library Baber Room​​

Sarah Domet's debut novel, The Guineveres, was released from Flatiron Books in October 2016. She's also the author of 90 Days to Your Novel (Writers Digest Books, 2010). She holds a Ph.D. in literature and creative writing from the University of Cincinnati where she once served as the associate editor of The Cincinnati Review. Originally from Ohio and still a Midwesterner at heart, she now lives in Savannah, Georgia.

Author, Vievee Francis

​Tuesday, November 28th 8:00pm in Park Library Baber Room​​

Vievee Francis is the author of Forest Primeval (Northwestern University Press, 2015), winner of the 2017 Kingsley Tufts Award; Horse in the Dark (Northwestern University Press, 2012), winner of the Cave Canem Northwestern University Press Poetry Prize; and Blue-Tail Fly (Wayne State University Press, 2006). She is a professor at Dartmouth College.

The CMU Creative Writing Program also runs the Wellspring Literary Series

Wellspring Literary Series readings for Fall 2017​​​​:​

Open Mic Tribute to Matthew Echelberger

​​​Monday, September 18th, 7pm Art Reach Center, 111 E. Broadway Mt. Pleasant

This reading will be an open-mic reading of the poetry of Matthew Echelberger, CMU Professor and poet who died in January, 2017. Matthew's former students, colleagues, family and friends will read from a portfolio of his poetry in a celebration of his life and art. Matthew graduated from Traverse City St. Francis High School and received his BA and MA from Central Michigan University and an MFA in Poetry from Vermont College. Matthew was an instructor in the Department of English Language and Literature at CMU since 1988. His poems have appeared a number of literary journals, including Kentucky Poetry Review, The Hiram Poetry Review, Zone 3, Wind Magazine, Michigan Voices, and The Driftwood Review. He received a Pushcart Prize nomination from Seems, the PrePress Award in the anthology Michigan Voices, and the Reader's Choice Award in The Driftwood Review.

Poet, Tommye Blount

​​​Monday, October 2nd, 7pm Art Reach Center, 111 E. Broadway Mt. Pleasant

Tommye Blount is a 2017 Kresge Artist Literary Fellow and the author of What Are We Not For, a chapbook of poems (released on Bull City Press). A graduate of Warren Wilson College's MFA Program for Writers, he has received fellowships and scholarships from Cave Canem and Bread Loaf Writers' Conference. His work has appeared, or is forthcoming, in the New England Review, Poetry, The Poetry Review, Ninth Letter, The Kenyon Review, Third Coast, and other publications. Currently, he is hard at work on his first full-length poetry collection—to be released by Four Way Books in 2020.

Poet, Judy Brice, and Author, Charles W. Brice

​​​Monday, November 6th, 7pm Art Reach Center, 111 E. Broadway Mt. Pleasant

Judy Brice is a retired Pittsburgh psychiatrist whose love of nature and experiences with illness, both her own and that of her patients, inform her work. Her poems have appeared in The Paterson Literary Review, and many Pittsburgh and national publications. Judy's collected poems have appeared in Renditions in a Palette (David Robert Books, 2013). More recently Judy's work has appeared in Versewrights.com and is forthcoming in Vox Populi. One of her poems has been set to music by Tony Manfredonia, to be performed by a quintet.

Charles W. Brice is the author of Flashcuts Out of Chaos (WordTech Editions, 2016). His second poetry collection, Mnemosyne's Hand, will appear in 2019. His poetry has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize and has appeared in over fifty publications including The Kentucky Review, The Atlanta Review, Hawaii Review, Chiron Review, The Dunes Review, and many other journals.

Click here for more info about the Wellspring Literary Series​

Additionally in spring 2017, the CMU English Department will present the following reading by local authors:

​​​Poet Jeffrey Bean and Fiction Writer Matt Roberson

Thursday, September 28th 8pm, Park Library Baber Room

Jeffrey Bean is author of the poetry collection Diminished Fifth (WordTech) and the chapbooks Girl Reading a Letter at an Open Window (Southeast Missouri State University Press) and The Voyeur's Litany (Anabiosis Press). His second full-length poetry collection, Woman Putting on Pearls, won the 2016 Red Mountain Prize for Poetry and was published in June 2017 by Red Mountain Press. His poems have been featured on The Writer's Almanac, in the 2014 and 2016 New Poetry from the Midwest anthologies, and in Garrison Keillor's anthology, Good Poems, American Places. Recent poems have appeared in The Antioch Review, The Missouri Review, Poet Lore, Willow Springs, Smartish Pace, Crab Orchard Review, and River Styx, among other journals.

Matthew Roberson is the author of three novels, 1998.6, Impotent, and List. He also edited the collection, Musing the Mosaic: Approaches to Ronald Sukenick, from SUNY Press. His short fiction has appeared in Web Conjunctions, Notre Dame Review, Fourteen Hills, Fiction International, Clackamas Literary Review, Western Humanities Review, McSweeney's Internet Tendency, and others. He has served on the FC2 Board of Directors since 2010.

Please "like" our Facebook page, Central English/Creative Writing, to follow the schedule of upcoming readings and events.

​Formerly, the College of Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences (CHSBS) and the CMU English Department sponsored the Visiting Writers Series. Past visitors to the series include: Toi Derricotte, Dan Chaon, Bonnie Jo Campbell, Thomas Lux, Marie Howe, Terrance Hayes, Louise Gluck, Meg Kearney, John Rybicki, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Ross Gay, Peter Markus, Paula McLain, Steve Tomasula, Lance Olsen, Sheila Heti, Thomas Lynch, Matthea Harvey, Charles Baxter, Brian Evenson, Robert Creeley, Donald Revell, Cris Mazza, Laura Mullen, Laura Kasischke, Mark Halliday, Stuart Dybek, Forrest Gander, Gary Gildner, Lance Henson, bell hooks, Janet Kauffman, Judith Minty, N. Scott Momaday, Jean Valentine, Ander Monson and ZZ Packer

Faculty & Student Readings

The Creative Writing program also features annual readings by its faculty members, as well as student readings by undergraduate and graduates, including a reading by contributors to the university literary magazines, Central Review and Temenos.

​ ​