Writing Competitions

The PoetryJett.com / National Poetry Month Prize
Open to any CMU student, graduate or undergraduate, who has taken a creative writing course (ENG 294, 391, 392, 491, 492, 493, 691, 692, 693) during the 2010-11 academic year.
How to enter: Each entrant may submit up to three typed poems of any length. Each poem must have a cover sheet with the author’s name, CMU address, phone number and email address, the poem’s title, and the number of the creative writing course taken during the current academic year. Submit entries at the CMU English Department office (Anspach 215).
This prize is administered by the Creative Writing Interest Group of the Department of English, in celebration of National Poetry Month, thanks to the generous sponsorship of Mr. Jett Whitehead and PoetryJett.com.
Amount: $250 awarded to the best poem written by a CMU student.
Deadline: March 15, 2014


The Annual Gow Litzenburger Award in Undergraduate Fiction Writing
Open to all CMU undergraduate students registered in at least one English or creative writing course.
How to enter: Please submit one short story, a maximum of 20 typed, double-spaced pages of fiction. All stories must include a cover sheet listing story title, author’s name, address, phone number, and e-mail address. All stories must be submitted to the English Office, 215 Anspach.

Amount: $300
Deadline: March 15, 2014 



J. Carroll Arnett Creative Writing Scholarship
Scholarship awarded to a student with a demonstrated commitment to creative writing.
  • Juniors, seniors or graduate students
  • Applicant must submit an original creative writing portfolio
  • No student may receive the award more than once
  • Not based on financial need
Deadline: March 15, 2014
Award Amount: $1,000


CMU is an AA/EO institution, providing equal opportunity to all persons, including minorities, females, veterans, and individuals with disabilities. | CentralLink
Copyright Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, Mich. 48859 | Phone 989-774-4000 | Privacy Policy | Feedback | Full Site