The Museum Studies Advisory Council is charged with overseeing the Museum Studies Minor Program using the guidelines for interdisciplinary programs established by the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee and Academic Senate.  

The council meets twice each semester and is composed of faculty and administrators from colleges and departments with students who have a special interest in museums. The council is responsible for establishing and reviewing program goals, objectives, procedures and guidelines; reviewing  curricular proposals which, if approved, are then routed through appropriate channels for subsequent approvals and implementation; and establishing qualifications for faculty to teach Museum Studies courses, review the program director's recommendations, and providing advice to the Dean of the College of Humanities and Social & Behavioral Sciences and the Dean of Science and Technology regarding faculty assignments.


Museum Studies Advisory Council 2012-2013 Members

Dr. Tracy Brown, Department of Sociology, Anthropology, & Social Work

Dr. Carrie Euler, Department of History

Dr. Pamela Gates, College of Humanities & Social & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Thomas Gehring, Department of Biology

Ms. Anne Gochenour, Art Gallery and Department of Art

Ms. Hillary Hanel, student--History major/Museum Studies minor

Dr. Jay C. Martin, Museum of Cultural & Natural History and History

Dr. Kirsten Nicholson, Museum of Cultural & Natural History and Biology

Dr. Reed Wicander, College of Science & Technology - Earth and Atmospheric Sciences