​There are scholarships and awards specific to the study of philosophy at CMU. In addition to the scholarships below, we encourage students to explore all of the opportunities at CMU:


​​Kendall W. Folkert Memorial Endowment

Scholarship awarded to students pursuing South or East Asia studies.
  • Seniors: must be admitted to a graduate program in South or East Asia studies
  • Undergraduates: must be pursuing work in South or East Asia studies through a study abroad program
  • Preference is given to those engaged in study of culture and to those with better academic records
Deadline: April
Award Amount: $750 - $1,500

Fuller Endowed Scholarship​

Scholarship awarded to help and encourage undergraduate CMU students to pursue the study of philosophy. ​This scholarship was established by Central Michigan University faculty member Gary Fuller, associate professor of philosophy, in 2014.

  • Junior or senior standing; must be a declared philosophy major or minor
  • Hold at least a 3.0 GPA both overall and in philosophy for the previous year
  • Show strong philosophical ability and motivation
  • A​pplicant required to submit an essay not to exceed 500 words reflecting his/her interest in the study of philosophy, along with a one-page application form.
Deadline: April 1
Award Amount: ​$5,000
Download the Fuller Scholarship application form

Oppenheimer-Mancuso (Lazorshak) Award

Award given to a philosophy major of senior standing who submits an outstanding essay about the necessity for the teaching of ethics and/or character development in the elementary grades.
  • Senior standing
  • Essays must be 1500 - 2000 words. A committee will examine the essays to determine the winner.
  • To apply, eligible students should submit their essay by email before the deadline to smith45j@cmich.edu
Deadline: April (application to be posted)
Award Amount: $500 

Additional Scholarships and Awards

Explore more scholarship and award opportunities for the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, including:
  • Student Paper Prize
  • Student Presentation Grant