Barbara P. Greene Endowed Scholarship in Political Science

Established in 2004 by Sarah and Edward Cohen (daughter and son-in-law) and friends of Barbara Greene. Barbara was a professor and chair of the political science department prior to her death in 2001. Income from this endowment will support a scholarship for students enrolled in the political science department who have interest in state and local government.

One scholarship will be awarded. Application deadline is the spring semester.

  • Scholarship awarded to a CMU student majoring in political science, with an interest in state and local government.
  • Minimum GPA 3.00 on a 4.0 scale.
  • Preference given first to MPA and MA graduate students, followed by undergraduate seniors and juniors.
  • The award will be made only if highly qualified applicants apply.
  • Apply with a formal letter, a resume, and contact information for three references who will speak to your career interests in Political Science. 
  • Questions should be addressed to Dr. Thomas Greitens, 989-774-3862, Anspach 246,


2012 - Jeffrey Stoutenburg

2013 - Heather Heitsch

2014 - Not awarded

2015 - Michael Fisher

2016 - Brian Lechel

2017 - Kathy Tahtinen

2018 - Winifred Walsh

2019 - Danielle McCann

2020 - Cassi Miller

2021 -Charlisse Smith