Griffin Forum featuring Delano Lewis

It was our honor to host Delano Lewis, former U.S. Ambassador to South Africa, as a keynote speaker for our Robert and Marjorie Griffin Endowed Chair in American Government February 18. Joining the discussion was Lewis' son, Geoff Lewis, who has more than 25 years of top-level management experience in culture awareness consulting, marketing, communications, and business development. The discussion was moderated by 9&10 News anchor and CMU alumnus Kevin Essebaggers. >>View images


On February 15, our Society of the United Nations RSO hosted ChipMUN for more than 100 students from Bloomfield Hills, Forest Hills Eastern, Ithaca, Mount Pleasant, and Traverse City West high schools. ChipMUN is a day-long model United Nations simulation for high school students facilitated by CMU students & their faculty advisers. >>View images

Global Ethics Day

Our Center for International Ethics hosted a discussion with Ambassador Oh Joon, a professor in the Graduate Institute of Peace Studies at Kyung Hee University in Seoul and a former ambassador of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations (2013-2016), on October 12th in the Park Library Auditorium.


Awards & Highlights

Image of Jay Martin holding award from the Midland Chapter of the American Chemical Society.Jay Martin receives award from the Midland Chapter of the American Chemical Society

May 2019

Congratulations to Professor Jay Martin on receiving a Salute to Excellence Award from the Midland Chapter of the American Chemical Society in recognition of his expert guidance and enthusiastic support of their centennial historical exhibit. Martin is a faculty member in the history department and director of the Museum of Cultural and Natural History and the museum studies Program.

During three years of exhibit planning, Martin provided consultation, supervision to CMU Museum Studies students, and assistance with oral histories.

Image of Maureen Eke

Maureen Eke honored by Toni Morrison Society

February 27, 2019
Congratulations to English faculty member Maureen Eke who was honored by the Toni Morrison Society for her book Critical Insights: Beloved, published by Salem Press. Eke’s book was acknowledged by the Toni Morrison Society at the African American Literature and Culture Society reception at the American Literature Association meeting last May. 

Every two years, the Toni Morrison Society recognizes authors and editors who have published works on Toni Morrison within the previous two years. The Toni Morrison Society was founded in 1993 at the annual meeting for the American Literature Association. It includes more than 600 members who support the teaching, reading, and critical examination of Toni Morrison's works. The Prize is awarded every two years in two categories: the best single-authored book and the best edited book. Among the board members of the Toni Morrison Society include Founder Carolyn Denard, Ph.D., Georgia College and State University; Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Harvard University; and Johnnetta Cole, Smithsonian Institute and former president of Spelman College.

Mackenzie Flynn receives inaugural Maxine Berman Award

September 2018

Image of Mackenzie FlynnCongratulations to Mackenzie Flynn on receiving the inaugural Maxine Berman Academic Achievement Award! Established in 2018 in memory of our former Griffin Endowed Chair Maxine Berman, the award recognizes the academic accomplishments and promise of a student enrolled in one of the seminar courses taught by the Griffin Chair (PSC 300/301).

Mackenzie graduated summa cum laude from CMU in May 2018 with dual degrees in History and Political Science and recently was named recipient of the 2018 CMU Future Alumni Leader Award! As a student at CMU she led a political organization for two years, was active in the CMU Honors Program, and was a student leader in the annual CMU phonathon. She also has volunteered more than 300 hours on various state and federal political campaigns. Mackenzie is attending the Michigan State University College of Law and plans to practice family law or hold a governmental position.

Mary Senter wins 2018 ASA award

August 2018
Sociology faculty member Mary Senter received the 2018 Scholarly Contributions to Teaching and Learning Award from the Teaching and Learning section of the American Sociological Association during their annual meeting in August. Congratulations, Professor Senter!

Laura Cochrane's book reviewed by AAA

August 2018
Anthropology faculty member Laura Cochrane's book, "Everyday Faith in Sufi Senegal," was reviewed by the American Anthropological Association's scholarly journal, the American Anthropologist. Read the review

English professor has 20th book published

December 2017
Jeffery Andrew Weinstock recently published "The Cambridge Companion to the American Gothic," his 20th book. The companion offers a thorough analysis of the American Gothic tradition from a 21st century perspective. Weinstock is a professor of English at CMU and an associate editor for The Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts.