LCME Accreditation

Current Status: Preliminary Accreditation

All North American medical schools offering the M.D. degree must receive accreditation by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), a joint body made up of equal numbers of representatives from the American Medical Association (AMA) and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

LCME Accreditation is a 5-Step Process which includes:

1) Application

2) Candidate for Accreditation

3) Preliminary Accreditation

4) Provisional Accreditation

5) Full Accreditation

To view a timeline of the LCME accreditation process click here​.​

HLC Accreditation

A public university such as Central Michigan University (CMU) must receive accreditation for all of its various programs/colleges from an accrediting body beyond the medical community. CMU’s accrediting body is the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

CMU has met the requirement by the HLC to obtain accreditation for the College of Medicine (CMED).


CMED’s east campus in Saginaw, also known as CMU Medical Education Partners, was developed as a separate corporation by CMU College of Medicine in partnership with Covenant Healthcare and St. Mary’s of Michigan. CMU Medical Education Partners manages five residency programs located at Covenant and St. Mary’s and these programs are accredited through the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


CMU Medical Education Partners Continuing Medical Education (CME) Office provides physicians with information to advance their knowledge of medicine, improve the quality of health care given in Saginaw, and Category 1 credit needed for re-licensure.  The CME Office is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME​).