Faculty and Staff

​​​​​​Photo of Dave Patton
Our highest priority is to maintain an academic environment that supports student achievement and involvement.  Work along side faculty members doing research or independent study projects in cartography, remote sensing, geographic information systems, environmental analysis, land use planning, and methods of physical geography instruction.


Our commitment to provide you with a stimulating education that prepares you for a fulfilling career and enhances your ability to adapt quickly in a rapidly changing world.​​

CMU Geography Faculty​​​ ​
Photo of Brian Becker
Bria​n L. Becker​
GIS, Remote Sensing, Image Processing, Environmental Science, CAD Mapping for GIS
Dow Science Complex 292
989-774-1529
becke1b@cmich.edu

​ ​ ​ ​
Photo of Jorge Brea
Jorge A. Brea
Population & Urban Geography, World Cultures, Latin America, Study Abroad - Dominican Republic
Dow Science Complex 283
989-774-7638
jorge.a.brea@cmich.edu

Photo of Anthony Feig
Anthony Feig
Earth Science, Science Education, Quaternary 
Geology, Physical & Environmental Geography
Dow Science Complex 276
989-774-1166
anthony.feig@cmich.edu

Photo of Mark Francek
Mark Francek
Physical Geography, Earth Science Education, GPS, Pedagogy
Dow Science Complex 285
989-774-7617
mark.francek@cmich.edu

Blank photoPhillip J. Gersmehl
Dow Science Complex 291
989-774-3723
gersm1pj@cmich.edu
Photo of Benjamin Heumann
Benjamin Heumann​
Remote Sensing, GIS, Environmental Science, 
Human-Environment Interactions, Wetlands
Dow Science Complex 282
989-774-1254​
benjamin.heumann@cmich.edu

Photo of Austin Jena Krause
Austin Jena Krause
Physical & Environmental Geography, Geomorphology, Hydrology
Dow Science Complex 237C
989-774-1556
kraus3aj@cmich.edu

Photo of Bin Li
Bin Li
GIS, Cartography, Spatial Statistics, Economic Geography, ​China
Dow Science Complex 279
989-774-1165
li1b@cm​ich.edu

Photo of Michael Libbee
Michael J. Libbee
Geographic Education, Human Geography
Dow Science Complex 298
989-774-3723
michael.libbee@cmich.edu

Photo of Matthew Liesch
Cultural, Economic, & Historical Geography
Dow Science Complex 284
989-774-1205
matt.liesch@cmich.edu
Photo of David Meyer
M. David Meyer
Dow Science Complex 280
989-774-1418
m.david.meyer@cmich.edu

Photo of David Patton
David K. Patton​
Cartography, GIS, Dynamic Mapping, Spatial Cognition
Dow Science Complex 277
989-774-2798
david.patton@cmich.edu

Photo of James Pytko
James A. Pytko
Physical Geography, GIS, Environmental Geography
Dow Science Complex 286
989-774-7347
pytko1ja@cmich.edu

Ryan P. Shadbolt
Climatology, Meteorology, Physical Geography, Natural Hazards​
Dow Science Complex 173A
989-774-2205
shadb1rp@cmich.edu

Yong Q. Tian​
GIS, Land-Water Dynamics, Coastal Ecology, Geo-Computing, Environmental Modeling
Dow Science Complex 278
989-774-1286
yong.tian@cmich.edu

Photo of Xiaoguang WangXiaoguang Wang
World Culture, Landuse, GIS, Social Science, Fuel Consumptions & Emissions
Dow Science Complex 287
989-774-3833
xiaoguang.wang@cmich.edu
Photo of Liann YatesLiann C. Yates
Dow Science Complex 288
989-774-2092
liann.yates@cmich.edu
Photo of Tao ZhengTao Zheng
Cartography, Remote Sensing, Hydraulic Modeling with GIS
Dow Science Complex 281
989-774-2675
zheng1t@cmich.edu