Biology Faculty
​​​​​​Biology_Faculty_July_1_2014x300withshadow.jpgOur highest priority is to maintain an academic environment that supports student achievement and involvement.  From coursework to field work, you'll work closely with biology faculty and staff and take their inspiration from the classroom to the lab.  Connect with your professors and experience even more when working together or under their guidance on special projects.  Out commitment is to provide you with a stimulating education that prepares you for a fulfilling career and enhances your ability to adapt quickly in a rapidly changing world.

CMU Biology Faculty

Elizabeth W. Alm
Microbiology, Medical Microbiology, Biotechnology
Brooks Hall 157
989-774-2503
elizabeth.w.alm@cmich.edu
Eric W. Linton
Bioinformatics, Molecular Systematics & Phylogenetics, Phycology, Eukaryotic Microbiology
Brooks Hall 163
989-774-3969
eric.linton@cmich.edu
David M. Alm​
Complexity and Systems Thinking, Agent-Based Modeling and Simulation, and Domain-Specific Programming Languages
Brooks Hall 156
alm1dm@cmich.edu
Molecular Ecology, Phylogeography, Molecular Systematics
Brooks Hall 188​
989-774-1177
mahon2a@cmich.edu
​​
​​Robert E. Bailey
Brooks Hall 189
989-774-3157
robert.e.bailey@cmich.edu
A. Scott McNaught​​
Zooplankton Ecology, Aquatic Food Webs, Limnology
Brooks Hall 153
989-774-1335
scott.mcnaught@cmich.edu
​​Hunter Carrick
Aquatic Ecology, Biogeochemistry
Brooks Hall 114
989-774-3348
Hunter.Carrick@cmich.edu


​​Anna K. Monfils
Plant Systematics, Botany
Brooks 180
989-774-2492
anna.monfils@cmich.edu
​​Gregory M. Colores
Microbiology, Environmental Contaminants, Bacteria
Brooks Hall 185
989-774-3412
greg.colores@cmich.edu

​​Kirsten E. Nicholson
Zoology, Phylogenetics, Museum Studies
Brooks Hall 138
989-774-3758
kirsten.nicholson@cmich.edu
​​Matthew Cooper
Ecology, Limnology, Biogeochemistry
Brooks Hall 186
989-774-7689
matthew.cooper@cmich.edu
​​Charles E. Novitski
Molecular Biology, 
Genetics
Brooks Hall 126
989-774-6895
charles.e.novitski@cmich.edu
​​Cynthia K. Damer
Cell Biology, Genetics, Biotechnology, Microscopy
Brooks Hall 229
989-774-3455
damer1ck@cmich.edu
​​Kevin Pangle
Phenotypic Plasticity, Great Lakes Food Webs
Brooks Hall 184
989-774-3185
pangl1k@cmich.edu
​​Joanne M. Dannenhoffer
Botany, Plant Cell Biology
Brooks Hall 161
989-774-2509
joanne.m.dannenhoffer@cmich.edu
​​Wiline Pangle
Behavioral Ecology, Science Education
Brooks Hall 128
989-774-2577
pangl1w@cmich.edu
​​Tracy Galarowicz
Department Chair
Fisheries Ecology
Brooks Hall 216
989-774-3227
galar1tl@cmich.edu

​​Lori Reyna
Brooks Hall 167
989-774-2648
Lori.Reyna@cmich.edu
​​Thomas M. Gehring
Mammalogy, Wildlife & Landscape Ecology
Brooks Hall 181
989-774-2484
tom.gehring@cmich.edu
​​John I. Scheide
Ion Regulation in Freshwater Mussels
Brooks Hall 112
989-774-3291
john.iver.scheide@cmich.edu
​​Steven W. Gorsich
Genetics, Cell & Molecular Biology, Eugenics, Alternative Energy
Brooks Hall 230A
989-774-1865
steven.gorsich@cmich.edu
​​Jennifer Schisa
Genetics, Biotechnology
Brooks Hall 193
989-774-2203
schis1j@cmich.edu
​​Philip L. Hertzler
Developmental Biology
Brooks Hall 155
989-774-2393
Philip.L.Hertzler@cmich.edu
Nancy E. Seefelt
Avian Ecology, Vertebrate Morphometrics, Evolution, Ecology
Brooks Hall 191
989-774-2560
nancy.e.seefelt@cmich.edu
Stephen J. Juris
Biochemistry, Molecular Mechanisms, Microbial Pathogenesis
Doe Science Complex 338
989-774-3257
stephen.j.juris@cmich.edu
​​Michelle L. Steinhilb
Genetics, Biotechnology, Neuroscience
Brooks Hall 206A
989-774-1866
michelle.steinhilb@cmich.edu
​​Xantha Karp
Genetics, Cell Biology
Brooks Hall 183
989-774-1267
karp1x@cmich.edu
personal web page
​​Bradley J. Swanson
Conservation Genetics, Molecular Ecology, Evolution
Brooks Hall 140
989-774-3377
brad.swanson@cmich.edu
​​Jonathan Kelty
Ecological Physiology
Brooks Hall 192
989-774-1382
jon.kelty@cmich.edu
personal w​eb page
​​Donald G. Uzarski
Ecosystem, Wetland, & Great Lakes Ecology, Limnology, Conservation
Brooks Hall 127
989-774-2504
uzars1dg@cmich.edu
​​Peter S. Kourtev
Microbial Communities, Bacterial Diversity
Brooks Hall 228
989-774-2388
p.kourtev@cmich.edu
​​Rebecca L. Uzarski
Brooks Hall 182
989-774-2485
uzars2rl@cmich.edu
Deric Learman
Geomicrobiology, Microbiology, Molecular Mechanisms
Brooks Hall 190
989-774-4409
deric.learman@cmich.edu
​​Daelyn A. Woolnough
Spatial, Conservation, & Aquatic Ecology, GIS
Brooks Hall 160
989-774-2985
Daelyn.A.Woolnough@cmich.edu
​​Sarah Learman
Genetics, Biotechnology, Biochemistry
Brooks Hall 187
989-774-3096
sarah.learman@cmich.edu
​​David Zanatta
Conservation Biology, Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Aquatic Systems
Brooks Hall 335
989-774-7829
zanat1d@cmich.edu
​​Debra Linton
Biology Education
Brooks Hall 166
989-774-3190
debra.linton@cmich.edu
​​