Skip navigation



Each academic year the Department of Teacher Education & Professional Development offers a number of scholarships to students who have been admitted to the Teacher Education program. In early February, criteria for eligibility and selection, instructions, and an application are posted on this website. Awards are made for the following academic year.

A TEPD faculty committee reviews each application and sends recipient recommendations to the Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid. The Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid reviews the recommendations to verify eligibility. Recipients are then informed by email that they are being recommended for a scholarship.  A recipient list will also be posted on this website.

Students cannot be admitted to the Teacher Education program until they complete at least 30 credit hours of coursework. 

Scholarship Recipient Listing 2021-2022

Recipients Listing


Scholarship applications have closed for 2021

 1.   Click on the "Listing of Scholarship Criteria 21-22 above and read thoroughly.

 2.  Click on the "21-22 Scholarship Application" link above and submit your application online.

If applying for the following Scholarships, additional materials will be needed in section 4 of the online application (you may want to prepare these materials before you begin the application process):

  • Donald Oren Bush Scholarship: Two  letters of recommendation from any subject matter methods course faculty stressing teaching potential of applicant
  • James A. Bradley Memorial Endowed Scholarship:  Preference recipient will demonstrate a qualifying disability, verified by the completion of an Authorization for Release of Information Form via the Office of Student Disability Services at CMU.
  • Paul G. and Sophia H. Cartwright: Letters of Recommendation: Please include 2-3 letters of recommendation and a brief statement of your educational philosophy.
  • Cochran/Burke Scholarship for Stem Education:  Please write a brief statement on the furthering and advocating of women in a STEM field (200 words).
  • Susan Colby Maly Endowed Scholarship: One copy of a narrative on the financial impact cancer has had on you and your family's lives (one page maximum) 
  • Heather Lichtle Memorial Award Fund: Describe why you are pursuing a career in teacher education (maximum of 200 words).

3.  Submit your scholarship application online by:

     Friday, March  19, 2021 by 5:00 p.m.

NOTE:  Your application materials will be considered for all TEPD scholarships for which you are eligible and have submitted appropriate attachments. 

If you would like more information about the scholarships, the requirements, or have questions about the application process, please contact Jennifer Conroy in EHS 421 at 989-774-3976 or

For more scholarship opportunities go to the Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid website and apply through Scholarship Universe.  


or Phone:  989-774-3674

View the 2020-2021 Scholarship Recipients 

College of Education and Human Services | Central Michigan University | | 195 Ojibway Ct | EHS 426 | Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-3079