Skip navigation

Standard Certification

The standard certification is the initial teaching license/credential issued in Michigan upon successful completion of an approved teacher preparation program and passage of the appropriate Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC). In Michigan, candidates are required to successfully complete a course in adult/child cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid prior to being issued an initial teaching certificate. Central Michigan University will not confirm any teacher candidate without assuring that a current adult/child CPR and First Aid requirement for certification has been met.

Current Teacher Administrative Rules
The following changes were implemented September 1, 2013 under the new Administrative Rules that govern teacher certification. The initial standard certificate is valid for up to five years and can be renewed indefinitely, for the duration of five years on each renewal.

Elementary Standard Certificate

A current Elementary Standard Certificate is valid for teaching all subjects in grades kindergarten through five, and major and minor fields in grades six through eight (upon completion of the required MTTC subject area test) as specified on the certificate and kindergarten through eight in a self-contained classroom.

  • Grades K-5, all subjects (with successful completion of MTTC Elementary test)
  • Grades 6-8, major/minor subjects (with successful completion of MTTC subject area test)
  • K-8, self-contained classroom (one teacher teaches all subjects to a group of students at the same grade level) (also with successful completion of MTTC Elementary test)

Secondary Standard Certificate

A current Secondary Standard Certificate is valid in subject matter fields in grades six through twelve in which the applicant has completed a major(s) or minor(s) specified on the certificate.

  • Grades 6-12, major/minor (with successful completion of the MTTC subject area test)

Standard Certificate Renewal
Select one of the following:
  • Six semester hours of completed credit in a planned course of study* or six semester hours of academic credit appropriate to the grade level and content endorsement of the certificate held at an approved Educator Preparation  Institute (EPI)  or 
  • 150 clock hours of Michigan State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECH) appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement or
  • 150 clock hours of Michigan District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) appropriate to the grade level of the certificate and endorsement or 
  • A combination of credit hours, State Continuing Education Clock Hours  (SCECH) or District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) Hours equal to 6 semester credit hours (25 SCECH’s or 25 DPPD’s equal 1 semester credit hour) 
The semester credit hours, DPPD’s and/or SCECH’s must be earned after the issue date of the most recent certificate. 

The standard certificate applications are submitted online through The Office of Professional Preparation Services, the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS). For more information on MOECS and instructions on how to apply for a provisional certification please visit The MDE help desk number is 517 373-3310. For CMU information, please contact EHS Student Services at 989-774-3309. 

College of Education and Human Services | Central Michigan University | | 195 Ojibway Ct | EHS 426 | Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-3079