The offices and functions administered by the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs support the educational and curricular programs of the four-year curriculum. CMU's College of Medicine is a unique, integrated educational program with a large amount of group-based learning in years one and two. Years three and four include a 6-month Longitudinal Integrated Clerkship, hospital clerkships, and electives. The distributed medical education program, based on the mission of the College, utilizes a wide range of rural and urban communities across Michigan. A number of offices and functions provide student support from pre-admission to graduation ranging from curriculum to student counseling.

This office has oversight and management of all aspects of the medical curriculum as well as student assessment and course evaluation. We support the delivery of the program, the lifelong development and faculty and the learning activities that utilize simulation and standardized patients. The content of our program is guided by the CMU College of Medicine General Competencies.

Please browse through our curriculum for more information.

Contact

Tina Thompson, Ph.D.Tina Thompson, PhD
Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Phone: 989-774-7860
Email: tina.thompson@cmich.edu

Administrative Support:
Melanie Zalewski
Phone: 989-774-7170
Email: melanie.zalewski@cmich.edu

Steve Vance, M.D.Steve Vance, MD
Associate Dean, Clinical Education

Phone: 989-746-7503
Email: steve.vance@cmich.edu

Administrative Support:
Angie Appold
Phone: 989-746-7504
Email: angie.appold@cmich.edu

Harold Bell, Ph.D.Harold Bell, PhD
Assistant Dean, Foundational Sciences Education

Phone: 989-774-1504
Email: harold.bell@cmich.edu




Rebecca MolterRebecca Molter
Manager, Office of Medical Education

Phone: 989-774-7428



Juliet NichollsJuliet Nicholls
Coordinator, Distributed Clinical Education

Phone: 989-746-7505
Email: juliet.nicholls@cmich.edu



Alexa TylerAlexa Tyler
Lead Curriculum Coordinator

Phone: 989-774-7867
Email: newel1aj@cmich.edu



Sophia WattersSophia Watters
Coordinator, Curriculum

Phone: 989-774-7680
Email: watte1se@cmich.edu



Janet GabelJanet Gabel
Coordinator, Longitudinal Education

Phone: 989-774-4481
Email: gabel1j@cmich.edu



Xiaomei Song, Ph.D.Xiaomei Song, PhD
Director, Assessment and Program Evaluation

Phone: 989-774-3156
Email: song5x@cmich.edu



Becky GetchellBecky Getchell
Coordinator, Programmatic Evaluation & Assessment

Phone: 989-774-7855
Email: becky.getchell@cmich.edu



Ongria DowOngria Dow
Executive Office Specialist

Phone: 989-774-7132
Email: dow1of@cmich.edu

Robert SassoRobert Sasso, MD
Director, Sim

Phone: 989-746-7524
Email: sasso1ra@cmich.edu





Rachel OlderRachel Older
Coordinator, Standardized Patient Program

Phone: 989-774-1633
Email: older1ra@cmich.edu



Jocelyn SteffkeJocelyn Steffke
Training Coordinator, Standardized Patient Program

Phone: 989-774-1902
Email: jocelyn.steffke@cmich.edu

Amanda SwaffordAmanda Swafford
Director, Academic Success

Phone: 989-774-3338
Email: amanda.swafford@cmich.edu