​The CMU Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences offers a number of scholarships – based on need, academic focus, career aspirations and other specific criteria – for incoming freshman, transfer students and continuing students.  All students are encouraged to submit a FAFSA form to ensure eligibility for awards with financial need requirements or preferences.

In addition, click here to learn more about scholarships available for all CMU students.

Department Scholarships

Application. Ple​ase click here to download the department scholarships application form.

Deadlines. Applications for undergraduate scholarships are due March 1 and October 1.

Application for the Moore scholarship for incoming students interested in Geology has been extended to July 15, 2021.

Required information. All applicants should return their completed scholarship application form, along with a short essay (2 pages maximum) and current transcripts (unofficial copies are acceptable) to:

Scholarship Committee
Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Central Michigan University
Brooks Hall 314
Mount Pleasant, MI 48859

The Pamela L. Grozdon Meteorology Endowment was established in 2018 by a generous gift from Pamela Grozdon, a 1977 graduate of CMU’s mathematics program. Award recipients must have a signed major in meteorology, a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25, and demonstrated financial need. Preference will be given to students entering their junior or senior year.
The Wayne and Ethel Moore Scholarship was established in 2006 to honor the memory of Wayne and Effie Moore who were prominent members of the CMU geologic community for many years.  Wayne Moore served as chair and professor of geology at CMU from 1970-1987.  Wayne and Effie also volunteered their time and wisdom at Big Bend National Park in west Texas.  Today, this award is presented to an incoming freshman with strong academic promise planning to major in geology. The Moore Award is renewable for a second year if the student maintains good academic standing and remains committed to a geology major with a minimum GPA of 3.0. Students who enhance diversity are especially encouraged to apply.
The Hubert Dixon Crider Scholarship was established in 1980 by a gift from the Muskegon Development Company. It honors the career of Hubert Crider whose many contributions in the oil industry included the first major oil discovery in the Michigan Basin. Today, this award recognizes CMU juniors and seniors with a major or minor in geology for their outstanding scholastic achievement, communication skills, and potential for a successful career in geology.  Recipients are selected based the quality of their academic achievements, application essay, and interview with the EAS Scholarship Committee. Crider Awards are distributed over the fall and spring semesters of each academic year.
The Thomas Knapp Alumni Field Camp Scholarship fund was established in 1986 by the CMU Department of Geology to support students with the appropriate background for admission to a summer Geology field camp.  Knapp was an assistant professor of Geology at CMU from 1968-1976 and was responsible for the layout of the rock wall southwest of Brooks Hall.  Knapp scholarships of up to $1,000 assist geology students to complete their capstone field camp course in preparation for graduation and professional careers.
The Martin Steinbis Endowed Scholarship in Science and Technology was established in 2012 by a generous gift from Martin Steinbis, a 1975 CMU geology graduate.  It provides financial support to CMU juniors and seniors majoring in geology.  Steinbis Scholarships of up to $2,500 per semester are awarded based on: 1) leadership and teamwork skills, 2) scholastic performance, 3) potential for career success, 4) department participation, and 5) demonstrated hard work and ambition.  Preference is given to students demonstrating financial need and preparing for a career in the energy sector.  Awards are available for Spring and Fall semesters, with separate applications for each.