ADVANCE Catalyst Award

Central is committed to addressing barriers to institutional success for women in STEM at CMU wherein we define institutional success as successful recruitment, retention, promotion, and equitable salaries for women at our institution.  In August 2019, Central Michigan University became one of six higher education institutions to receive the ADVANCE Catalyst Award from the National Science Foundation. Our university has assembled a leadership team whose efforts are expressed and updated here.

"The goal of the National Science Foundation's (NSF) ADVANCE program is to increase the representation and advancement of women in academic science and engineering careers, thereby contributing to the development of a more diverse science and engineering workforce."  NSF website

"The number of women obtaining science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) doctorate degrees has increased steadily in recent decades. However, women continue to be underrepresented in STEM academic positions, especially at senior ranks and in leadership positions." -NSF ADVANCE brochure available here.

Principle Investigator (PI):     A.T. Miller (Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer)
Co-PI:                                        Katrina Piatek-Jimenez (Professor of Mathematics)
Co-PI:                                        Frim Ampaw (Professor of Educational Leadership)
Co-PI:                                        Tracy Galarowicz (Department Chair and Professor of Biology)
Co-PI:                                        Lisa Gandy (Associate Professor of Computer Science)

The Faculty Advisory Board co-chairs are Dean Jane Davison of the College of Science and Engineering and Dr. Janice Tomasik, faculty from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.  The Faculty Advisory Board members:

College of Science and Engineering 
BiologyAnna Monfils
Chemistry and BiochemistryJanice Tomasik
Computer ScienceTony Morelli
Earth and Atmospheric SciencesDaria Kluver
Engineering and TechnologyTerry Lerch
Geography and Environmental StudiesBenjamin Heumann
MathematicsAna Dias
PhysicsVeronica Barone
Statistics and Data SciencesChin-I Cheng
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences 
Political Science and Public AdministrationCherie Strachan
PsychologyKimberly O'Brien
Sociology, Anthropology, and Social WorkMary Senter
College of Arts and Media 
Communication and Dramatic ArtsKirsten Weber
College of Business Administration 
EconomicsAparna Lhila