Scholarships and Awards

James R. & Anita H. Jenkins Scholarship is a competitive regional scholarship annually awarding four recipients who demonstrate leadership and community involvement from regions in Michigan, Illinois, Iowa and Tennessee.

Lem Tucker Scholarship awards leadership reflective of the values embodied by CMU alum, Lem Tucker - the first Black student body president and one of NBC's first African-American network reporters in 1965. 

Robert Newby Award for Diversity Efforts awards up to three undergraduate and one graduate student project for research, creative activity, and/or application of findings in a credit-bearing experience per year. 

Multicultural Advancement and Lloyd M. Cofer Scholars (MAC) Scholars are exemplary high school students who have committed to CMU and academic achievement, community service, enhancing diversity and living in shared residence on campus to support student success.  Known as Diversity Champions, they foster and welcome an inclusive environment for all members of CMU and Mt. Pleasant communities.

‚ÄčKing Chavez Parks Future Faculty Fellows is a State of Michigan fully funded initiative supporting graduate students whose career path will lead them to the teaching profession in post-secondary education.

LaMarcus D. Howard Scholarship supports and encourages full-time undergraduate students who reflect his experience as a first-generation college student who overcame significant challenges to achieve his baccalaureate and Masters degrees from CMU. Preference is given to students from Flint, MI.

CMU Financial Aid