University Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council

Formed of designated representatives from each decanal and vice presidential unit, SGA and P&A assemblies, to gain consistency and participation across the institution, help promote and select grant and prize recipients, help design and implement local unit initiatives and reporting, disseminate and act on diversity data, build participation in DEI activities, keep units informed and share unit issues and needs.

Mission Statement: To pursue policies and strategies that achieve equity and inclusion across social differences in power in order to have Central Michigan University realize the creative synergies and intellectual insights and excellence that come from fully engaging the power of differences.


President Davies welcome remarks for the 6th Annual Campus Diversity Symposium speak frankly about the stated intention of making CMU an "anti-racist campus." Listen to them above and click here to share your experiences with diversity at CMU (anonymously if you choose) on the form available below his recorded message.

Screen Shot 2020-11-02 at 12.23.40 PM.png

Designated representatives from each college, decanal, vice presidential unit, SGA and P&A assembly form the University Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council. Tasked to gain consistency and participation across the institution, each department is responsible for at least three initiatives they will pursue in the academic year which illustrate their commitment to the principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion. The following are this academic year's initiatives achieved at CMU.

AY2021 Campus DEI Initiatives

Current DEI Council Members:

Miracle Berry              Undergraduate Student

Kate Caszatt                Provost Office

Jewel Cotton               Athletics

Ahsha Davis                Graduate Student

Zachary Evans            P&A Council

Megan Goodwin          Education

Michael Guy                Recruitment/Retention

Munif Hakim               Undergraduate Student

Ariadne Harris            Communications

Lori Hella                    FAS

Kathy Irwin                 University Libraries

Nikita Murry               President's Division

Kathleen Neu             Alumni Relations

Dave Patton                CSE

Richard Rothaus        CLASS

Jonathan Russell       CAM

Rebecca Schaefer      Global Campus

Stan Shingles            Ex Officio

James Span, Jr.         MASS

Bradley Swanson       Graduate Studies

Crina Tarasi               Business

Tina Thompson         CMED

Greg Zimmerman      Health Professions