

## STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

## **MEMORANDUM**

DATE: January 7, 2022

TO: Intermediate School District Directors of Special Education

FROM: Roxanne Balfour, Director, Michigan Department of Education-Low Incidence Outreach

Roxanne Balfour

SUBJECT: Annual Federal Register of Students

This memo is to alert you to the annual census conducted by DeafBlind **Central: Michigan's** Training and Resource Project. This organization is a federally funded grant project that provides a range of consultative and referral services for children birth through twenty-six, who have a combined vision and hearing loss.

DeafBlind Central is currently conducting the Annual Federal Register of Students Who Are DeafBlind for the State of Michigan. The information they collect is kept strictly confidential and identifying information is removed before the data are reported to the United States Department of Education. Reporting student information does not violate student FERPA rights.

Please encourage staff within your district to determine if any of the children or young adults they serve meet the criteria for being qualified as DeafBlind. This includes those individuals who have documented vision and hearing impairments, those who cannot be tested using conventional testing (but do not seem to be processing vision and auditory stimuli), those with additional disabilities, and children with cochlear implants. It is not necessary for the child/young adult to have DeafBlind categorical eligibility to qualify; the intent is to identify ALL children who meet these criteria.

If you or members of your staff have questions regarding the criteria for qualification, or would like a Federal Registry Form, contact DB Central directly by calling toll free, 1-888-758-0508 (V/TTY), or go to their website at: <a href="https://www.dbcentral.org">www.dbcentral.org</a>.

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT TIFFANY D. TILLEY – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER JUDITH PRITCHETT – NASBE DELEGATE • ELLEN COGEN LIPTON NIKKI SNYDER • JASON STRAYHORN