# ${\tt CENTRAL\ MICHIGAN\ UNIVERSITY}$

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES

August 3, 2018

### Central Michigan University Board of Trustees Mt. Pleasant, Michigan August 3, 2018

Chair William Weideman called the meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 10:05 a.m. in the Park Library's Sarah and Daniel Opperman Auditorium.

Members present: Mr. William R. Kanine; Ms. Tricia A. Keith, vice chair; Ms. Patricia E. Mooradian; and Mr. Richard K. Studley

Members present via telephone conference: Dr. Michael A. Sandler and Mr. Robert F. Wardrop II, vice chair

Member absent: Mr. Joseph B. Anderson

Also attending: Ms. Mary Jane Flanagan, executive assistant to the president and secretary to the Board of Trustees; Mr. Steven L. Johnson, vice president for enrollment and student services; Mr. Robert K. Martin, vice president for advancement; Mr. A.T. Miller, vice president/chief diversity officer; Mr. Toby Roth, interim vice president for government and external relations; Dr. Manuel Rupe, vice president and general counsel; and Mr. Barrie J. Wilkes, vice president for finance and administrative services and treasurer of the Board.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT RELATED TO AGENDA ITEMS: None

#### **UPDATE: PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH PROCESS**

Trustee Keith shared process and guiding principles. Chair Weideman thanked Trustee Keith for leading the search advisory committee and the members of the committee for their service.

#### **APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDENT**

It was moved by Trustee Keith, seconded by Trustee Studley and carried that the following resolution be adopted as submitted.

BE IT RESOLVED, That Robert O. Davies, Ph.D. is appointed president-elect effective August 3, 2018, and as the 15th president of Central Michigan University effective September 1, 2018. The Board of Trustees chair is authorized to sign an employment agreement on behalf of the Board.

Trustee Keith spoke of some of the characteristics that drew the search advisory committee and the Board of Trustees to Dr. Davies as a candidate.

The meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Mary Jane Flanagan
Secretary to the Board of Trustees

William H. Weideman
Chair, Board of Trustees