Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month at Central Michigan University is celebrated annually September 15 to October 15.  In conjunction with other national celebrations, we recognize the contributions made and the important presence of Hispanic and Latino Americans to the United States, Michigan and CMU. Join us in celebration of Hispanic heritage and culture.

******

hispanic-heritage-month-banner.png

Hispanic Heritage Month 2019
"Hispanic Americans: A History of Serving Our Nation" (Click here for calendar)


Monday, September 16

Hispanic Heritage Month Welcome Reception/KickOff
5pm, Center for Inclusion & Diversity (UC 108)
Cosponsored by the Empowered Latino Union

Wednesday, September 18
Hispanic Heritage Month Service Project
12:20pm, Center for Inclusion and Diversity (UC 108)
Cosponsored by the Maryellen Brandell Volunteer Center

Friday, September 20
Day long Volunteering at Bethany Christian Services (Lansing)
10am (departure), 5pm (return)
Cosponsored by the Maryellen Brandell Volunteer Center

Tuesday, September 24
Zumba with Officer Laura Martinez
7pm, Student Activity Center

Sponsored by Empowered Latino Union

Wednesday, September 25
Soup and Substance "Going Beyond Hola"
12pm, Bovee UC Terrace Rooms
Sponsored by Office of Diversity Education

Thursday, September 26
Painting with Omar Arts
4-6pm and 6:30-8:30pm, Center for Inclusion and Diversity (UC 108)
20 seats per session
First come, First Serve

Tuesday, October 1
Latin America Music and Dance
6pm, Bovee UC Rotunda
Sponsored by Sigma Delta Pi

Thursday, October 3
Hispanic Heritage Month Keynote Speaker: Joe Hernandez-Kolski
7pm, Bovee UC Auditorium
Cosponsored by Program Board

Tuesday, October 8
Latinx discussion
6:30pm, Bovee UC Terrace Room
Sponsored by Empowered Latino Union

Wednesday, October 9
Hispanic Heritage Month Annual Food Taster
3pm, 4pm, and 5pm dinner servings, Wesley Church (1400 S. Washington)
$5 for students with ID, $7 for community

Friday, October 11
Latino Alumni Chapter Annual Career Information Session
2pm, Bovee UC Terrace Rooms A-C
Sponsored by Latino Alumni Chapter