CMU Retirement Investment Advisory Committee

​​​​Objective Statement

"Our objective is to ensure the retirement savings program provided by the university helps participants build and maintain a financially secure retirement."

Purpose: The CMU Retirement Investment Committee is an advisory committee that reviews investment issues specific to the 403(b) basic retirement plan and tax-deferred 403(b) and 457(b) retirement plans offered by CMU, is supported by CMU Human Resources, and makes recommendations to the Vice President of Finance and Administrative Services (FAS).  The committee's recommendations are non-binding, and the committee has no authority to make any changes on its own.  The vice president of FAS decides to accept or decline the committee's recommendations, and is the Named Fiduciary to the CMU retirement plans.

The following individuals are serving on the committee:

  • Dr. Ray Christie, Sr. Vice Provost - Academic Administration
  • Dr. James Felton, Professor - Finance and Law
  • Lori Hella, Associate Vice President of Human Resources – Committee Chair
  • Mary Hill, Associate Vice President of Financial Services and Reporting and Controller
  • Mary Lou Morey, Director of Benefits & Wellness

established: 2014

The university also engages an external retirement plan investment advisor, OneDigital, to work with the committee.

CMU Investment Policy Statement - Updated Jan. 1, 2020

2018 Retirement Enhancements

RIAC Milestones