Staff Excellence Award Guide

​​​staff excellence award

Past Recipients        ​                                     ​                                     

Central Michigan University is both fortunate and thankful that it has many excellent employees amongst its faculty and staff. Outstanding faculty are recognized for their contributions in the classroom and elsewhere through The University Teaching Excellence Award. Starting in 1993-94 the University instituted a similar program for staff employees. The Staff Excellence Award Program recognizes and rewards dedicated staff who routinely and regularly demonstrate in an outstanding way their commitment to and support of the University's Service Excellence Values: Care, Knowledge, Availability and Follow Through (click here to see Service Excellence Values) along with CMU's Core Values of integrity, respect, compassion, inclusiveness, social responsibility, excellence, and innovation

CMU's Staff Excellence Award Program is designed to recognize and reward excellent staff members. Individuals in the service-maintenance (facilities, dining, storeroom/warehouse), professional and administrative, office professional, public broadcasting, police, sergeants and supervisory-technical employee groups are eligible for nomination.

Nominations are accepted from early March until mid May.​  Each year in June and July, nominations that have been received during the previous fiscal year will be reviewed and rated using a standardized rating form for each nomination.  Line managers will be asked to confirm outstanding performance on nominations originating from individuals other than employee supervisors. The award recipients are then finalized by division leaders and announced in August.

The award consists of a plaque, a 1 year pre-paid parking pass and peer recognition at the annual Staff Excellence Award Program ceremony.

There is no limit on the number of nominations an employee can receive. Nominees who have won an SEAP award less than 5 years ago may be nominated for the current year, but are not eligible to receive an award.