Opened: Fall 1964
Cost: $1.4 Million
Woldt Hall was the first residence hall built in what would become the southeast quadrangle. Woldt, along with Saxe, Emmons, and Herrig Halls, were all constructed during a period of campus expansion that included four new quads in a fifteen year period. Woldt Hall was designed by architects from Roger Allen and Associates of Grand Rapids. The $1.4 million building, designed to house 344 students in 86 suites, utilized the floor plan from Tate Hall (this floor plan was used in all dormitory buildings until the construction of the Towers complex in the late 1960s).
Woldt Hall opened for occupancy in the fall of 1964. It was dedicated on May 9, 1965, in a joint ceremony that also featured the dedication of Woldt's sister hall, Emmons. When it opened, the building included several innovative features, some of which are still extant. The basement of the Woldt-Emmons complex, beneath the dining room where Computer Services is now housed, was a new student union, complete with a cafeteria, a bookstore, and recreation rooms. Woldt and Emmons were also unique in that they shared a common lobby. The building also housed the south art studio at one time.
Woldt hall was named for Mae K. Woldt, the head of the Biology Department from 1906 to 1935. Mae K. Woldt was born in Urbana, Illinois on March 2, 1874. She received her BS from the University of Michigan in 1897 and her MS from the University of Chicago in 1904. After completing her undergraduate work at Michigan, Woldt taught at Negaunee High School from 1898 to 1899. She did graduate work at several universities, including the University of Heidelberg in Germany, Columbia University, the University of Washington, and Rocky Mountain Biological Station in Colorado. She came to Central in 1899, becoming the head of the Biology department in 1906. She remained head until her death on October 13, 1935.