Skip navigation

CMU names finalists for CMU College of Medicine dean

Open forums for four candidates scheduled for January

Contact: Jim Knight

​Four finalists to be the next dean of Central Michigan University's College of Medicine will visit in January for a series of interviews and open forums on campus as well as in Saginaw and Midland.

Ian Davison, dean of the College of Science and Technology and chair of the CMED search committee, said the 19-member committee narrowed the field after a national search. Locations, dates and times for open forums will be announced in early January.

The finalists are:

  • Dr. Klea Bertakis, founding director of the Center for Health Services Research in Primary Care at the University of California at Davis. Interviews and meetings will take place Jan. 12-13.
  • Dr. James Herman, chair of Family and Community Medicine at the Penn State College of Medicine. Interviews and meetings are scheduled for Jan. 14-15.
  • Dr. George Kikano, founding director of the Weatherhead Institute for Family Medicine and Community Health at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. Interviews and meetings will occur Jan. 19-20.
  • Dr. Michael Iannuzzi, chair of medicine at SUNY Upstate Medical University. Interviews and meetings are scheduled for Jan. 21-22.

"We have four outstanding candidates from an extremely strong pool of applicants," Davison said. "The search committee members were actively engaged from the start, and this is the payoff."

The next College of Medicine dean will take over a medical school preparing to admit its third class and finalizing its third- and fourth-year curriculum, which includes clinical training in Saginaw as well as at a number of medical facilities across Michigan.

Construction continues on a new education building in Saginaw on the campus of Covenant HealthCare, on schedule to open in June 2015, and plans are in place to build clinical space at the College of Medicine's other Saginaw partner, St. Mary's of Michigan.

Ernie Yoder, the founding dean of the College of Medicine, announced his resignation in June after four years with CMU. Linda Perkowski, who joined the College of Medicine in 2011, is serving as interim dean.

In addition to Davison, search committee members include Betsy Aderholdt, regional executive and CEO of St. Mary's of Michigan and St. Joseph Health System; Concha Allen, assistant professor,  CMU Department of marketing and hospitality services administration; Ed Bruff, executive vice president and chief operating officer of Covenant HealthCare; Cali Clark, director of employment services in human resources; Dr. Pat Dhar, CMED internal medicine residency program director; Claudia Douglass, vice provost for academic effectiveness; Bob Fleischmann, CMED interim chair of foundational sciences; Mary Hill, associate vice president, financial services and reporting; John Kasonovich, CEO of Covenant Medical Group; Joel Lanphear, CMED interim senior associate dean of educational programs; Edward McKee, CMED interim senior associate dean of faculty administration and research; Elizabeth Palmer, assistant professor of medical disciplines and physician at University Health Services; Dr. Kyle Raycraft, CMED internal medicine resident; Samuel Shaheen, CMED interim chair of surgical disciplines; Renee Sundstrom, CMED assistant program director of OB/GYN residency; Robert Van Howe, program director of CMU Health pediatrics; Kathleen Wilbur, vice president of development and external relations.

The CMU College of Medicine is the nation's 137th medical school, with a mission to improve access to high-quality health care in Michigan emphasizing rural and medically underserved regions.

Photo Associator

Article Photo Title

Photo Title required.

Photo for News Home

Select File
Use This One

Photo for News Feeds

Select File
Use This One