Skip navigation
Fall scenes at CMU

September awards and highlights

Here’s a recap of recognition for CMU faculty, students and more from the past month

Contact: ​Jeff Johnston

​Central Michigan University faculty, students, staff, alumni, colleges and departments regularly receive accolades for their outstanding work and honors for their legacies. Here's a roundup of recognition from September.

Honoring Nina Nash-Robertson

Students, faculty, family and others gathered to dedicate the School of Music choir hall in the Music Building in honor of the late Nina Nash-Robertson, who retired in May 2017 as the director of choral activities. Nash-Robertson died in January 2018. 

The Sept. 24 ceremony also launched an endowed scholarship and endowed choral fund created by Nash-Robertson's husband, John Robertson, and daughter, Jenny Robertson.

Faculty member earns ArtPrize recognition

College of the Arts and Media faculty member Al Wildey's piece "Power Lines" received a special recognition citation from exhibition space Fountain Street Church during ArtPrize 2018 in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Student, grad win film festival awards

Animation student Maggie Buerkle and broadcast and cinematic arts alum Don Blubaugh each received honors in the Bumper Awards at the 2018 Traverse City Film Festival. Bumpers are 20- to 60-second short films played before feature films during the festival.

Geochemistry student gets training at nation's top labs

Stephan Hlohowskyj is the first CMU graduate student accepted to the prestigious National School on Neutron and X-Ray Scattering at the nation's two top research laboratories.

The third-year doctoral student in earth and ecosystem science in the College of Science and Engineering is exploring the origins of life and the first signs of oxygen on Earth by examining trace metals in rocks.

10 staff honored for excellence

For outstanding service to the university and its students, CMU recognized 10 employees as 2017-18 Staff Excellence Award winners.

Honored were Charmica L. Abinojar, College of Medicine; Sarah S. Avery, Museum of Cultural and Natural History; Stephanie Bechtel, faculty support and assignment; Brad Brookens, University Stores; Frank England, Facilities Management; Lorie Fox, communication sciences and disorders; Sarah Hall, research and graduate studies; John Kassuba, Residence Life; Jennifer A. Beck Nottingham, University Recreation; and Stephanie Terrian, counseling and special education.

Alumni Awards celebrate leaders

Winners of CMU's annual Alumni Awards distinguish themselves by contributing significant time, talent or financial resources to help advance and bring positive recognition to the university.

"Our Alumni Award recipients are a great example of what it means to be a CMU Chippewa," said Marcie Otteman, CMU executive director of alumni relations. "They set the bar high for all of us."

This year's alumni honorees are Isaiah Oliver, class of 2007; Sarah Opperman, class of 1981; Bob Schellhas, class of 1988; and Mackenzie Flynn, class of 2018. René and Stan Shingles received the Honorary Alumni Award.

Photo Associator

Article Photo Title

Photo Title required.

Photo for News Home

Select File
Use This One

Photo for News Feeds

Select File
Use This One