Skip navigation

News Central 34 and WMHW recognized by Michigan Association of Broadcasters

Student-produced television, radio broadcasts earn top awards

​​Students from Central Michigan University’s School of Broadcast and Cinematic Arts recently won several top awards in the 2015 Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation Student Competition for their student-produced radio and television broadcasts.

“We are extremely proud of our students who have created these award-winning productions,” Peter Orlik, director of CMU’s School of Broadcast and Cinematic Arts, said. “They bring their passion for the profession to every project they undertake, make the most of the tools available and follow in the footsteps of four decades of alumni making substantial contributions in all phases of the industry.”

CMU students won first place honors for college television in the News Feature, Mini-Documentary and Digital Media Experience categories. They swept the category of Talk Show/Scripted Show, earning first place, second place and honorable mention designations. The students also were awarded second place in the Daily Newscast/Sportscast and News Feature categories and honorable mention in the category of Current Events Program.

“MHTV, along with all of our other volunteer-based cocurricular groups, provides opportunities for CMU students to demonstrate and hone the skills they develop in the classroom,” Aaron Jones, video facilities manager of CMU’s School of Broadcast and Cinematic Arts, said. “These awards recognize the talent of our students and reflect the quality of our program.”

In the college television competition, CMU was the most highly decorated university broadcasting program, edging out Michigan State University.

“Our success in this competition is a continual testament to the commitment of our students to producing the best content possible,” Rick Sykes, News Central 34 division manager, said. “It is truly a team effort involving students from various divisions within Moore Hall Television.”

Students receiving television awards include:

  • Daily Newscast/Sportscast — Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, graduate student Hawazen Ghari, second place;
  • News Feature — Michigan Center graduate student Mason Flick, first place and Byron Center junior Erica Francis, second place;
  • Mini-Documentary — Alma freshman Brad Parsons, first place;
  • Talk Show/Scripted Show — Spring Valley, New York, graduate student Jeff Pompilus, Traverse City graduate Russell Tandy, '14, Warren graduate Michael Torrento, '14, and Davisburg junior Davis Nixon, first place; Bad Axe graduate Grant Pichla, '14, and Sterling Heights senior Rhea Juridico, second place; and Detroit graduate Brian McKnight, '14, and North Branch senior Nick Voigt, honorable mention;
  • Current Events Program — Sterling Heights senior Rhea Juridico and Novi freshman Artie Teran, honorable mention; and
  • Digital Media Experience — Michigan Center graduate student Mason Flick, first place.

CMU is now in the running for College Television Station of the Year recognition by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters. If successful, this would be the 14th consecutive year MHTV has achieved this designation.

In the college radio competition, students receiving awards include:

  • Newport junior Veronica Gabriel, first place in the Daily Newscast/News Feature category;
  • Dowagiac senior Taylor Gross, first place in the Public Service Announcement category;
  • Clinton Township freshman Brad Tunney, Livonia junior Jim Costa and Harrison Township freshman Adam Abraham, second place in the On-Air Personality or Team category; and
  • Clinton Township freshman Brad Tunney and Novi sophomore Matt Kearney, honorable mention in the Sports Play-by-Play category.

The awards will be presented at the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference and Expo that will take place March 11, in Lansing, when the winners of the College Television Station of the Year and College Radio Station of the Year also will be announced.

MHTV has been part of CMU’s broadcasting curriculum since 1972 and its News Central 34 division was established in 1978. The station is broadcast in Mount Pleasant on Cable Channel 189 and on CMU’s campus Cable Channel 34, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Both MHTV and News Central 34 are student-run organizations.

On the air since 1972, WMHW-FM is composed of Moore Rock Radio 91.5 and Mountain 101. Both radio stations broadcast out of The Jerry Henderson Radio Complex in Moore Hall. Aside from on-air DJ shifts and specialty shows, WMHW offers experience in news and sports broadcasting with weekday newsbreaks starting at 5 a.m. on Moore Rock Radio 91.5 and 6 a.m. on Mountain 101. WMHW also is the official station for live coverage of CMU women's basketball.

Photo Associator

Article Photo Title

Photo Title required.

Photo for News Home

Select File
Use This One

Photo for News Feeds

Select File
Use This One