Maraskine named Goldwater Scholarship nominee

Feb. 3, 2012  
Marina Maraskine of Midland is Central Michigan University’s 2012 Goldwater Scholarship nominee.  She is one of nearly 1,100 college and university students from across the nation to be nominated for this honor.
Congress established the Goldwater Scholarship program in 1986 to honor the late Barry M. Goldwater of Arizona, who served for 30 years in the U.S. Senate.  The awards go to outstanding college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering.  Institutions are permitted to nominate a limited number of students each year with the nomination representing a significant recognition in itself. 
Maraskine, a junior in biomedical sciences and chemistry, proposed research on “A nanomedical solution to targeted drug delivery.”  She is currently and will continue conducting her research under the direction of Professor Ajit Sharma in the Department of Chemistry.   At this time, she is working on the preparation and characterization of a nanomedical delivery vehicle.  She plans to formally present her work within the next year.
Upon graduation, Maraskine plans to pursue a combined M.D./Ph.D. program and continue nanomedical research.  She is interested in targeted drug delivery as a method of treating diseases while reducing side effects that can pose risks to otherwise healthy systems.  Following graduate school, she hopes to work as a medical scientist developing new drug delivery techniques and working with patients. 
The CMU Goldwater Scholarship committee this year was composed of David Ash, professor and chairperson of the Department of Chemistry; Kathleen Benison, professor in the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences; Phame Camarena, director of University Honors and the National Scholarship Program; Koblar Alan Jackson, professor and chairperson of the Department of Physics; Kristina Lemmer, assistant professor in the School of Engineering & Technology; and Bin Li, professor and chairperson in the Department of Geography.