ADVANCE Leadership Team

Dr. Julia Johnson, PI, ADVANCE grant, is Senior Vice Provost of Academic Affairs. Johnson has served as a faculty member and administrator in a variety of educational institutions, ranging from small, private liberal arts colleges, to comprehensive universities, to research-intensive campuses. They have worked at public and private universities in roles as a tenure-track faculty member, a full-time lecturer, and as an adjunct.  Johnson identifies as a teacher-scholar of critical intercultural communication and has published in journals such as the Journal of International and Intercultural CommunicationText and Performance Quarterly, and QED: A Journal in GLBTQ Worldmaking.  They earned a Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts in Communication Studies, an M.A. from CSU Northridge in Speech Communication, and a B.A. from CSU Long Beach in Speech Communication.

Dr. Frimpomaa Ampaw, Co-PI ADVANCE grant, is a Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and the director of the Center for Applied Research Studies (CARRS). Dr. Ampaw teaches Quantitative Analysis, Advanced Quantitative Analysis, and Finance in Higher Education. Dr. Ampaw's research interests include retention and persistence in higher education, minorities and women in science education, and higher education labor market outcomes.

2020-214-5-031 Tracy Galarowicz headshot as.jpg

Dr. Tracy Galarowicz, Co-PI ADVANCE grant, is a Professor in the Department of Biology.  Dr. Galarowicz's research interests include the ecology of freshwater fish, the processes and mechanisms influencing the growth and survival of fish populations, and fish habitat patterns.

Lisa Gandy 230 wide.jpg

Dr. Lisa Gandy, Co-PI ADVANCE grant, is an Associate Professor and Chairperson in the Department of Computer Science.  Dr. Gandy's research interests include using natural language processing techniques to help clinicians manage clinical trial data and studying how social media affects new parents.  Dr. Gandy's current role in the ADVANCE grant is grant communications and bylaws analysis, focusing on gender equity.

Katrina Piatek-Jimenez 230.jpg

Dr. Katrina Piatek-Jimenez, Co-PI ADVANCE grant, is a Professor in the Department of Mathematics.  She is also currently serving as Chair of the Academic Senate at CMU.  Dr. Piatek-Jimenez's research interests include equity in mathematics education, motivation for mathematical careers, stereotypes of mathematicians, and undergraduate students' understanding of proofs and the language of mathematics.


Dr. Mary Deane Sorcinelli, ADVANCE External Evaluator, is a senior fellow at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Mary Deane is a well-known researcher in academic careers, faculty professional development, teaching and learning, and the evaluation of teaching. She has written over 100 articles, book chapters, and books in a wide range of sources. She holds an M.A. in English from Mount Holyoke College and an ED.D in Educational Policy from UMass Amherst.