Student Choice Award Winner 2010

The recipient of the Central Michigan University Student Choice Award for 2010 is Dr. Lori Pietrandrea-Bissell from the College of Health Professions, Communication Disorders Department.  The Student Choice Award is given to one CMU faculty member for their excellence in overall instructional effectiveness as seen by students.  The student members of the Excellence in Teaching Committee (ETAC) have the chance every year to organize and offer this prestigious award to one instructor from CMU.  The students open and take nominations from students, then guide their own selection process in collaboration with the ETAC chairperson and the Center's director. Dr. Bissell effectively engages students with the use of multiple presentations and demonstrations in each class.  Some of the comments submitted by students were:

“Professor Bissell is a very effective teacher.  She engages her students in the lecture, and really makes me want to learn more about the subjects.” “She has a wonderful personality, always willing to help, uses more than just notes to help teach us.” 

“She creates a positive environment by inducing discussions and answering as many questions as the class has.”

The Academic Senate’s Excellence in Teaching Committee would like to commend Dr. Bissell on her dedication to driving the academic success of her students here at Central Michigan University, concluding a special note of congratulations from the Committee:

"Thank you for your outstanding teaching performance at Central Michigan University, Dr. Bissell, and we wish you continued success in all your endeavors with students."

The Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee (Holly Hoffman, Sue Woods, Ken Cherry, Dawn Decker, Jose-Luis Maurtua, Scott McNaught, Rachael Barron-Duncan, William Wandless, Brian Smith, Tara McCarthy, Jim Therrell, Brittney Holley, Andreah Grove, Lauren Atkinson, Erin Box, MacKensye Ancona)