CMU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, one of six regional accrediting associations in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission is recognized by the US Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

The following organizations have issued their accreditation to appropriate CMU programs: the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET Inc., Accrediting Council of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC), Accreditation Review Commission on Education for Physician Assistant (ARC-PA), American Chemical Society (ACS), American Psychological Association (APA), Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), Commission on Accreditation for Dietetics Education (CADE), Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE), Council of Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA), Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), National Recreation and Park Association and the American Association for Leisure and Recreation Council on Accreditation (NRPA/AALR), National Association of Schools of Music (NASM), National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD), National Association of School Psychologists (NASP), the Accreditation Commission for Audiology Education of the American Academy of Audiology, the Accreditation Commission of the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA), and the National Association of Industrial Technology (NAIT).

The College of Business Administration is accredited by the AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. This accreditation covers all undergraduate and masters degree programs in business offered by the College. AACSB International is a not-for-profit organization consisting of more than 900 educational organizations and corporations. Headquartered in Tampa, FL., USA, AACSB International is the premier accrediting agency and service organization for business schools.

The Professional Education Unit, chaired by the Dean of the College of Education and Human Services, is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). 2010 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036; phone (202) 466-7496. This accreditation covers initial teacher preparation and advanced educator preparation level programs. NCATE is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation to accredit programs for preparation of teachers and other professional school personnel.

CMU is also on the approved list of the American Association of University Women and maintains national recognition by the Educational Leadership Constituent Council (ELCC). The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) accredits CMU's Human Growth and Development Pre-School lab.