Excellence in Teaching Awards

Central Michigan University has a long and proud tradition of excellence in teaching. The faculty of Central Michigan University has maintained this tradition by setting high standards in demanding competence of all its members. At the same time, however, there are occasions when faculty members exceed the usual standards and expectations.

The Academic Senate believes that such occasions and such individuals should receive special recognition and has therefore established the Excellence in Teaching Award.

Each Fall, the nomination process for this award is announced via CMU Today email announcements, all faculty email lists, the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning website, and other sources. Criteria for eligibility and a link to an online form will be provided as part of the announcement. Winners are chosen and awards distributed at the Faculty Excellence Exhibition in March.

Timeline for the 2018-2019 Award Process

September 9/17/18 – 10/5/18 - Call for Nominations

Week of October 22, 2018 - Notification of Nominees

Mid-February 2019 - Winners Announced

March 21, 2019 - Winners Recognized during the Faculty Excellence Exhibition

May 2019 - Winners Recognized during Spring Commencement

Past Winners

       Past winners by year: 1985 - Present

Committee Membership

 ​Baxter, Martin
​ CSE / Earth Sciences (At Large 18-21)
​ Bechtel, Stephanie
 CETL (ex-officio and non-voting)
 Fanning, Robert
 Haines, Jamie  
 CHP - RMS (17-20)
​ Huang, Zhenyu
​ CBA / BIS (18-21)
​ Jasper, Andrea
​ CSE (At Large 16-19)
 Lee, Kyung Hee
 CEHS (17-20)
 ​Paas, Johanna
​ Peterson, Madeline
​ Student Rep (18-19)
​ Raymond, Kerri 
​ CETL (non-voting)
 Shah, Vishal​
​ CBA (17-19)
 Steinhilb, Michelle - chair
 CSE - BIO (16-19)
​ Sun, Fangye
​ CCFA - Music (18-21)
 Tucker, Antoinette
 CETL (non-voting)
 Whale, Dave

Excellence in Teaching Award Committee Operations

For further information on this award or the nomination process, please contact us 989.774.3615 or cetl@cmich.edu.