Committee on Academic Service Learning (CASL)

​​ In September 2010 the Academic Senate approved the creation of the Committee on Academic Service Learning. This new committee will work to provide, “a more comprehensive, programmatic structure and mission for Academic Service-Learning at CMU.” The committee will serve in an advisory capacity to the campus community by actively supporting and encouraging the use of service-learning. In addition, the committee will work to improve the communication, coordination, accountability, data collection and working relationships with regards to service-learning here at CMU and within the greater community. 

Membership: 16 Members (2 ex officio), including 7 faculty members (1 per college), CBA, CCFA, CEHS, CHSBS, CHP, CST, College of Graduate Studies, CMU Volunteer Center, FYE, Risk Management, Students (2), Community Representatives, Director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, ex officio and non-voting, Campus Coordinator of Academic Service Learning, ex officio and non-voting. For more information on the CASL please review the committee charge or contact the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning at (989) 774-3615.

Current Membership

Committee Member

College or Department

​Bechtel, Stephanie
​Ex officio and non-voting
DeJong, Brian
CSE  (17-20)
Douglas, Natalie
College of Graduate Studies
Haidar, Salma - ChairCHP  (15-18)
Ren, Chunbo
(JRN) CCFA (16-19)
Ross, Shawna
CMU Volunteer Center
Sarigiani, Pamela
CEHS (17-20)
Tarasi, Crina
(MHSA) CBA (16-19)
Tucker, Antoinette
Ex officio and non-voting
Young-Kelsey, Sarah Ann
Risk Management