Excellence in Teaching Awards

​​​Central Michigan University has a long and proud tradition of excellence in teaching. The faculty of Central Michigan University has maintained this ​tradition by setting high standards in demanding competence of all its members. At the same time, however, ​there are occasions when faculty members e​xceed the usual standards and expectations.

The Academic Senate believes that such occasions and such individuals should receive special recognition and has therefore established the Excellence in Teaching Award.

:: Winners ::

Each Fall, the nomination process for this award is announced via CMU Today email annoucements, all faculty email lists, the CETL web site, and other sources. Criteria for eligibility and a link to an online form will be provided as part of the announcement. Winners are chosen and awards distributed at the Faculty Excellence Exhibition in March.​

Committee Membership

  • Eric Buschlen, (EDL), Committee Co-Chair -CEHS – 2014-17
  • Dawn Decker, (CSE), at large – Committee Co-Chair  – 2013-16
  • Carl Lee, (MTH), CST – 2013-16
  • Brian Smith​​​​, (SASW), CHSBS - 2017
  • Adam Epstein, (BLR), CBA – 2014-16
  • Karen Grossnickle, (RMS), CHP – 2014-17​
  • Aparana Zambare, (LIB), at large – 2013-16
  • Christopher Davoli, (CHSBS), - 2015-18​
  • Jamie (Donna) Sinclair - Student 2016
  • Bruce Bonnell, (MUS) CCFA 2015-18
  • Stacey Lim (CDO) at large 2015-18
  • Gabriela DeOliveira – Student 2015-16
  • Gabriel Paul Heidbreder – Student 2015-16
  • Tiffany Smrtnik – Student 2015-16
  • Kiara Wallace – Student 2015-16
  • Diane Marble, CETL

For further information on this award or the nomination process, please contact us 989.774.3615 or cetl@cmich.edu.

Central Michigan University • 1200 S. Franklin St. • Mount Pleasant, Mich. 48859 • 989-774-4000