Skip to main content

ADVANCE Catalyst Award

Central Michigan University is committed to addressing barriers to institutional success for women in STEM. We define institutional success as successful recruitment, retention, promotion, and equitable salaries for women at our institution. In August 2019, CMU became one of six higher education institutions to receive the ADVANCE Catalyst Award from the National Science Foundation. Our university has assembled a leadership team whose efforts are expressed and updated here.

The goal of the National Science Foundation's (NSF) ADVANCE program is to increase the representation and advancement of women in academic science and engineering careers, thereby contributing to the development of a more diverse science and engineering workforce.

Leadership Team:

Principle Investigator (PI):Shawna Patterson-Stephens, Ph.D. | Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer
Co-PI:Katrina Piatek-Jimenez |Professor of Mathematics
Co-PI:Frim Ampaw | Professor of Educational Leadership
Co-PI:Tracy Galarowicz |Department Chair and Professor of Biology
Co-PI:Lisa Gandy | Associate Professor of Computer Science

The Faculty Advisory Board co-chairs are Dean Jane Davison of the College of Science and Engineering and Dr. Janice Tomasik, faculty from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. 

Faculty Advisory Board Members:

College of Science and Engineering
BiologyAnna Monfils
ChemistryJanice Tomasik
Computer ScienceTony Morelli
Earth and Atmospheric SciencesDaria Kluver
Engineering and TechnologyTerry Lerch
Geography and Environmental StudiesBenjamin Heumann
MathematicsAna Dias
PhysicsVeronica Barone
Statistics and Data SciencesChin-I Cheng
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences   
Political Science and Public AdministrationCherie Strachan
PsychologyKimberly O'Brien
SociologyMary Senter
College of Arts and Media   
Communication and Dramatic ArtsKirsten Weber
College of Business Administration   
EconomicsAparna Lhila