Professor Receives Mentor of the Year Award

Jim McDonald III, received an award for his contributions as a mentor to the profession of science teacher education.

Jim McDonald, faculty member in the department of Teacher and Special Education (TSE), received the 2023 Outstanding Mentor of the Year Award from the Association of Science Teacher Education (ASTE).  This award honors ASTE members who support and encourage pre-service and in-service science teachers, and/or new science teacher educators entering the profession. It also seeks to recognize the valuable contributions of mentors to the profession of science teacher education. 

Debi Hanuscin, past president of the ASTE, nominated Jim for this award.  She said, “ASTE is unique from other organizations in its focused commitment to science teacher education.  Jim manifests this commitment in every aspect of his career.”  Jim’s outstanding mentor accomplishments contributed to the professional development of science teachers and teacher educators, including assisting in the application of research to practice in science teaching, encouraging participation in professional associations related to science teaching, and encouraging contributions to the knowledge base of science teacher educators and providing opportunities for their professional growth. 

The ASTE provides leadership and support for professionals involved in the education and development of teachers of science at all levels.  ASTE promotes scholarship, collaboration, and innovation in science teacher education, and seeks to advance policy and practice that contributes to more just and equitable outcomes for teachers of science.

View latest news