Trustees to receive enrollment update, approve graduates

Global Campus and mentoring initiatives also on the agenda

| Author: Ari Harris | Media Contact: Ariadne Harris

The Central Michigan University Board of Trustees will receive an update on CMU’s enrollment efforts when it meets at 11:30 a.m. Thursday.

President Bob Davies will discuss current projections and efforts underway, and also will provide a look back on the accomplishments of students, faculty and staff during the spring semester. The board also will approve 2,509 May graduates, and approve emeritus status for long-serving faculty and staff. 

Thursday’s formal session will be open to the public with both in-person and virtual viewing options.  Wednesday’s committee meetings also are open to the university community and general public virtually or with in-person seating for up to 25 individuals in the Lake Superior Room.  Livestream links for both meetings are located on the Board of Trustees Schedule of Meetings webpage. 

Highlights of the committee meetings include:
  • Academic and Student Affairs Committee: Jennifer DeHaemers, vice president of Student Recruitment and Retention, and James Span, executive director of Student Inclusion and Diversity, will provide an update on the CMU Mentor Collective program. Betty Kirby, interim dean of the College of the Arts and Media, and Ernie Bedford, executive director of Global Campus Enterprise, will present an update on innovation and online learning.
  • Finance and Facilities Committee: Nick Long, vice president and chief financial officer, and Jonathan Webb, associate vice president facilities management, will provide a summer construction update, as well as an update on the Washington Commons project.
  • Trustees-Faculty Liaison Committee: Trustees will hear a presentation on the New Venture Challenge from Julie Messing, director of the Isabella Bank Institute for Entrepreneurship, and David Nows, entrepreneurship department chair. Faculty members Greg Smith, history, and Tracy Davis, English, will also participate in a conversation regarding components of the faculty workload.  
  • Trustees-Student Liaison Committee: Trustees will meet with outgoing Student Government Association leaders Kate King and Dylan Baker, as well as incoming SGA leaders Taylor Idema and Natalie Brant. Students Skylar Conran and Addison Hoekstra will provide updates on Program Board and Residence Housing Association, respectively.
Full agendas for the committee meetings and formal session are available on the Board of Trustees webpage.

Individuals who wish to address the Board of Trustees during the public comment period may do so by submitting a request in advance of the meeting. Individuals may complete the online form, “request to address the board,” or visit the Office of the President to complete a request card. Public comments will be delivered in the order they were received by the Board Secretary. The policy governing public comment is included in Article IX on page 13 of the Board of Trustees bylaws.

View latest news