Trustees name presidential search advisory committee

Board also selects WittKeiffer to support national search

| Author: Ari Harris | Media Contact: Aaron Mills

During a special meeting of the Central Michigan University Board of Trustees today, Vice Chair Denise Williams Mallett announced the formation of a presidential search advisory committee and the selection of a national search firm. Trustees also voted to approve a confidentiality agreement, affirmative action statement and charge to the search advisory committee — all items relating to the presidential search process.

“Over the last several weeks, we have had the opportunity to put in place some of the fundamental elements needed to conduct an inclusive as well as successful presidential search,” Mallett said. “This is a pivotal undertaking that will shape the future leadership of our institution.”

During its February meeting, the Board approved procedures for the selection of the president, including an expansion of the search advisory committee. During today’s special session, trustees again voted to expand the committee. The two expansions increased the number of individuals able to serve on the committee to 20, underscoring the Trustees’ goal to make the search process more inclusive.

The search advisory committee includes student, faculty and staff representatives, as well as representation from several university and community groups, such as Academic Senate, Student Government Association, CMU Alumni Association,  Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe and Mount Pleasant City Commission. The procedures also allow for up to seven additional committee members to support the search.

Vice Chair Williams Mallett will lead the presidential search effort. Other members of the search advisory committee community are:

  • Trustee Todd Regis, Chair, CMU Board of Trustees
  • Trustee Todd Anson, CMU Board of Trustees
  • Trustee Sharon Heath, CMU Board of Trustees
  • Tangela Cheatham, deputy athletic director, CMU Athletics
  • Tracy Davis, chair, Academic Senate; faculty member, Department of English Language and Literature
  • Todd Fridline, representative, Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe
  • Deb Gross, executive secretary, Registrar's office; president, CMU Office Professionals Local 6888 (UAW)
  • Mary Moran Hill, vice president, Finance and Administrative Services
  • Nick Hussein, faculty member, Department of Marketing, Hospitality and Logistics
  • Stephen Juris, chair-elect, Academic Senate; faculty member, Department of Biology
  • Shana Kingma, graduate student, CMU Innovation and Online
  • John Kulhavi, CMU alumnus and Trustee Emeritus
  • Paula Lancaster, dean, College of Education and Human Services
  • Stephanie Mathson, faculty member, education librarian and coordinator, Library Research & Instruction Services
  • Scott Nadeau, president, CMU Alumni Association
  • Amy Perschbacher, mayor of Mount Pleasant
  • Penny Queller, CMU alumna and supporter
  • Cedric Taylor, faculty member, School of Politics, Society, Justice and Public Service
  • Tyler Zimmerman, president, CMU Student Government Association

Trustee Michael Sandler also was appointed to serve as an alternate trustee member of the presidential search committee in the event one of the trustees is unable to serve out their appointment.

“Thank you to the many people who offered their service to be on the committee,” Chair Todd Regis said. “We went to 20 people because we did want to be inclusive. We want to make sure we’ve done everything that we can. We’re very proud of this committee.”

The Trustees also announced the selection of national executive search firm WittKeiffer to support the search process.

“With their expertise and experience in executive searches for academic institutions, we are confident in their ability to help us identify and attract top tier candidates for the presidency,” Williams Mallett said.

She also announced the creation of a new hub on CMU’s website that is designed to provide information and updates on the presidential search, and invited the public to stay informed as the search progresses. Members of the university and general public can access the presidential search site from the university’s homepage, as well as from the Board of Trustees and Office of the President webpages.

In other Board action, Trustees approved motions to adopt:

  • A confidentiality agreement for search advisory committee members.
  • An affirmative action statement to guide the search process.
  • A charge to the presidential search advisory committee.

Chair Regis ended the special session with a reminder that the Board of Trustees will have an update on the presidential search at their next formal session scheduled for April 18 on CMU’s campus.

View latest news