Clarke Historical Library Faculty and Staff

The Director of the Clarke Historical Library reports to the Dean of Libraries and has dotted line reporting to an independent advisory board of governors. The Clarke Board of Governors consists of five members serving staggered five-year terms who are elected by the full Clarke Board and approved by CMU’s Board of Trustees. The Clarke Board also includes several ex-officio members and a representative of the Clarke family who the family selects.

Board of Governors

The current members of the Board of Governors are:

  • Carrie Marsh, Library Director (ex officio)
  • Kathy Irwin, Dean, University Libraries (ex officio)
  • Robert Davies, President, CMU (ex officio)
  • Gregory Smith, Chair, Department of History (ex officio)
  • Norman Clarke, III (family representative)
  • Jim Fry (alternate family representative)
  • Eric Hemenway (term ends December 31, 2028)
  • Carla Hills, Chair (term ends December 31, 2026)
  • Fred Johnson, III (term ends December 31, 2027)
  • Carlin Smith (term ends December 31, 2024)
  • Larry J. Wagenaar (term ends December 31, 2025)

Emeritus members

  • Sandra B. Croll

Leadership and staff