Communication Scholarships

Special Talent Scholarships

Debate and Forensics

These generous awards are offered to communication students who are active and successful participants in CMU's debate program. ‚ÄčThese scholarships, which are not based on need, are paid per year over four years. Recipients must maintain a 2.5 grade point average and satisfy the forensics competition requirements outlined by the coaching staff.

Donor Scholarships - Department of Communications

For more information please contact the Department of Communication by phone at 989-774-3177 or in person at Moore Hall #333.

Lawrence E. Abbott Endowed Scholarship

Established in 2004 by Lawrence E. Abbott '55. The income from the endowment will support a renewable award for a full-time undergraduate student enrolled in the College of the Arts and Media and majoring in speech. Eligible candidates must demonstrate financial need and maintain an overall GPA of 3.0.

The Wilbur Moore Prize

Established in 1989 in memory of Wilbur E. Moore, founder of what are now known as the Summer Remedial Clinics and the university's first vice president for academic affairs, for a junior who is enrolled as a major in one of the four departments: Communication, Communication Disorders, Broadcast and Cinematic Arts and Theatre and Dance.

Gilbert Rau Oratory Award

Established in 1982 for three students chosen as the best speaker in the annual Gilbert Ray Oratory Contest.

Donor Scholarships - Forensics and Debate

For more information please contact Joe Packer, Director of Forensics and Debate, at 989-774-4460 or by email at

Herbert L. and Lillian M. Curry Debate Award

Established in 1955 by Karen Heydenburg and Dennis Curry in memory of their parents, with a preference for junior or senior COM majors with a 3.0 or better GPA and an emphasis in oratory/debate or speech education and participation in debate, oratory or other forensic activities.

Eugene C. Chenoweth Debate Award

Established in 1980 by an estate gift of Eugene C. Chenoweth; income from which is to be used as an award for undergraduates who shall exhibit excellence in intercollegiate debate competition. The award is to be administered by the Director of Debate and Chairperson of the Communication Department.

David and Kathleen Ling Endowed Scholarship in Forensics

Established in 2006 by David and Kathleen Ling, family, and friends. David is a retired professor of the Department of Communication who has established the scholarship to be awarded to a full-time student who shows special merit in debate and is involved in the debate program at CMU. The award is to be administered by the Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid in consultation with the Dean of the College of the Arts and Media and the Director of Forensics.