Olga J. and G. Roland Denison Visiting Professorship of Native American Studies

Olga and G. Roland DenisonThe Olga J. and G. Roland Denison Visiting Professorship of Native American Studies brings to campus a noted scholar, artist or practitioner to teach, research, lecture, serve the community and participate in other activities of the program. The Denison family generously established this endowed professorship in 2007. The gift helps to enhance the Native American Studies Program at Central Michigan University to increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indian peoples in the United States and Canada. The Denison Visiting Professorship of Native American Studies also helps build upon the relationship between the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe, CMU and the Mount Pleasant community.

Spring 2022

Gifts for the River Film Festival

Join us for the 2022 Gifts for the River Film Festival on March 25 & 26 featuring 26 films, 3 prizes, special guests, panel discussions, community celebrations, and more!

Gifts For The River Film Festival seeks to celebrate our relationship with the land and waterways that sustain us. To celebrate the artists and filmmakers who are in intentional relationship with the natural world and utilize their medium to create awareness about the issues that threaten Mother Earth as well as celebrate the ongoing resilience of Turtle Island.

The festival is a mixture of film screenings, panel discussions, and community celebrations, both in person (Anspach 161) and online. The virtual festival will launch on Friday March 25th and showcase the full lineup of official selections as well as access to livestream events and panel discussions. Special guests include Sharon Day, Dr. Carolyn Dunn, Siobhan Growing Elm Brown, Ty Defoe, Judy Pamp, Dany Sineway, Dr. Maureen N. Eke, Ivey Camille Manybeads-Tsom, Jordan Flaherty, Katherine Freer, Dr. Ari Berk, and many more.

Past visiting scholars

  • Spring 2019: Screen Printing Workshop with Dylan Miner.
  • Spring 2019: LaDonna Brave Bull Allard.
  • Fall 2018: Ty Defoe, "Gifts for the River."
  • Spring 2018: Elizabeth LaPensée.
  • Spring 2017: Ty Defoe.
  • Fall 2016: Ty Defoe​.
  • Spring 2016: Gayle Ross​.
  • Fall 2015: Gayle Ross​.
  • Spring 2015: N​ative Skywatchers Educator Workshop​.
  • Fall 2014: Native Skywatchers​.
  • Spring 2014: Eddie Benton-Banai​.
  • Spring 2013: Shirley Brauker.
  • Spring 2012: Dee Ann Sherwood.
  • Fall 2011: Dee Ann Sherwood.
  • Spring 2011: Winona LaDuke.
  • Spring 2010: Daniel Ramirez.
  • Fall 2009: Eddie Benton-Banai.