Undergraduate Scholarships in Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Please contact CLASS@cmich.edu or 989-774-3341 if you have any questions about our scholarships or application procedures.

Scholarships, awards and grants

Michael “Gio” Giordano established the Michael "Gio" Giordano Helping Professions Award in 2013 to recognize the impact of his educational experience at Central Michigan University and to provide for those who pursue the goal of helping others. This renewable award is distributed once a year to a full-time, undergraduate student enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences. Students must be studying social work, professional counseling, or psychology.

DEADLINE: April 2024

Antonio’s mother, Dr. Susan Grettenberger, his family and many friends established this award in 2021, in honor of Antonio Leon Jordan ‘12. Antonio left a legacy of public service and had a love for books and teaching, especially of children and youth who were at risk. This scholarship is to support the success of students who are from traditionally under-represented groups. Consideration will be given to those committed to working with historically underserved or underprivileged populations, and who demonstrate service to the public via extracurricular/volunteer experience.

DEADLINE: April 2024

The Honorable Fred M. and Lynne M. Mester Family Endowment was established to recognize 1959 CMU graduate Judge Fred Mester's legacy as a respected friend, colleague, and mentor. Judge Mester's distinguished judicial career spans more than 26 years with the Oakland County Circuit Court. He also is a former prosecutor with the U.S. Attorney's Office. As a chief of the Civil Division, prior to his judicial career, Judge Mester served in the Military as a Captain in the United Sates Army. This endowment also honors Judge Mester's wife, Lynne, a 1959 CMU graduate holding a degree in Education with a major in Social Studies and minors in Biology and English.

This award provides scholarship support to full-time CMU undergraduate students with a major or minor in the following departments: English Language and Literature; Political Science; and Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work. In addition, ROTC cadets, regardless of area of study, are eligible.

DEADLINE: April 2024

Established in 1982 by CMU alumnus G. William Quine, '57 for a Michigan resident studying liberal arts. Applicant must be a full time student pursuing a liberal arts curriculum. Recipient will be at least a sophomore and preference will be given to students whose GPA is below 3.0 without regard to financial need or academic standing. The scholarship is not renewable.

DEADLINE: April 2024

The Nancy Stebbins Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established in 2014 by friends and family of Nancy Stebbins to recognize the impact of her educational experience at Central Michigan University and to provide for those who pursue the goal of helping others. A renewable award will be distributed once a year to a student enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences who is studying the field of social work.

Applicants must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 and demonstrate financial need.

DEADLINE: April 2024

The College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences considers undergraduate and graduate students’ participation in professional conferences to be a vital part of their education. Students who attend a professional conference or meeting at the state, national, or international level are eligible to receive up to $100 for registration fees. Only costs associated with registration will be reimbursed; no travel costs will be eligible. Undergraduate and graduate students whose research or creative endeavors are accepted for presentation at state, national, or international level conferences are eligible for up to $250 for expenses associated with the presentation. Reimbursable expenses include registration fees, travel, and lodging with reimbursement made after conference attendance.

Deadline: Applications must be submitted prior to the conference presentation to be eligible for consideration.

Student Conferences Grant Application

The John E. Warriner Scholarship was established through an estate gift from the late Dr. John E. Warriner. Dr. Warriner was the author of Warriner's Handbook of English and the six-volume series English Grammar and Composition. He was the son of former Central Michigan University president Eugene C. Warriner.

Several scholarships are awarded annually to undergraduate and graduate students majoring in anthropology, cultural & global studies, economics, English, foreign languages, history, journalism, museum studies, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, speech, social work, or sociology. Applicants must have a minimum 3.25 GPA.

DEADLINE: November 10, 2023

Warriner Scholarship Application

Paper prizes

The Gabriel Chien Memorial Fund was created to honor the memory of history professor Gabriel Chien. The award encourages students to look at the world from a global and historical perspective, which was Dr. Chien's lifelong commitment. The scholarship is awarded annually to one student who demonstrates an interest in global and historical perspectives through a written essay.

  • Applicant must submit a written essay that focuses on an aspect of Chinese culture, Sino-American relations, or a comparative study of China.
  • Paper should be no longer than 10 pages.

    DEADLINE: May 2024

    The Shapiro Prize in Social and Behavioral Sciences endowment is funded through gifts from Dr. E. Gary and Myra Shapiro. Dr. Shapiro dedicated more than 35 years of service to Central Michigan University including serving as provost and as dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (formerly known as the College of Humanities and Social and Behavioral Sciences).

    This prize is awarded to the student who has written the best social or behavioral science research paper based upon empirical data during the year. The Shapiro Prize is not renewable.

    DEADLINE: May 2024

    The Student Paper Competition is an award presented annually for papers written for classes (300 level and above) within the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences during the previous academic year.

    Applicants can submit research papers, essays, creative works, theoretical papers, reviews of research, or papers presented at professional conferences.

    This competition does not include a monetary award.

    DEADLINE: May 2024