Computer Science Scholarships

Each year we award a number of computer science scholarships - based on need, academic focus, career aspirations and other specific criteria - for incoming freshman, transfer students and continuing students. 

Below you'll find information about each of the available scholarships as well as the scholarship application.

Deadline for scholarship applications is April 1st.

Available scholarships

Computer Science Endowment Scholarship

About: Established in 2005. Income from the endowment may be used for undergraduate and graduate scholarships, student awards, professional events in the department and other necessary purchases for the benefit of the computer science department.

Eligibility: Undergraduate students must be incoming freshmen who intend to sign a CPS or ITC major, have a minimum 3.3 GPA and a minimum 25 ACT score. Graduate students must be admitted to the CPS master of science degree program, have a minimum 3.6 GPA, 520 on the verbal GRE, 720 on the quantitative GRE, or proof of acceptance of a paper to be published in a journal or presented at a refereed national or international conference.

Leonard and Betty Summers Endowed Scholarship

About: Established in 2007 by R. Kim Summers '78, in honor of his parents, Leonard and Betty Summers. Income from the endowment will support a renewable award for a student enrolled in the College of Science and Technology and Department of Computer Science.

Eligibility: Students should have a minimum GPA of 3.0. Preference will be given to those from Otsego County who demonstrate financial need and are active in community service.

Harold W. and Dorothy V. Zeoli Computer Science Award

About: Established in 1988 by family, colleagues and members of the Department of Computer Science in memory of Dr. Harold Zeoli for students majoring in computer science. Dr. Zeoli was instrumental in introducing the study of computer science at CMU.

Eligibility: For students majoring in computer science or information technology.

Russ Danner Scholarship

About: This scholarship was established in 2021 by Five Rivers Cattle Feeding in memory of Russ Danner ‘85. Russ earned his Bachelor of Science in Computer Science at CMU. He was a Vice President of Information Technology for Five Rivers Cattle Feeding where his career spanned 30 years. Russ passed away in 2021.

Eligibility: This is an annual Scholarship to support a Junior or Senior enrolled in the College of Science & Engineering majoring in Computer Science.

Gongzhu Hu and Shu Lu Scholarship

About: Mrs. Shu Lu retired from Central Michigan University after 30 years of dedicated service, working her way up through the Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid. She retired in 2013 from the position of Financial Aid Systems Analyst, Mrs. Lu was considered an invaluable and integral part of that office and was granted emeritus status upon retirement. Dr. Gongzhu Hu was a professor of Computer Science in the College of Science and Engineering. Dr. Hu retired from CMU after more than 30 years and was also granted emeritus status.

Eligibility: The recipient must be a computer science major student with a minimum 3.5 GPA.

Balicki and Elliott Second Chance Scholarship

About: This scholarship was established in 2023 by Robert J. Balicki and Gail A. Elliott. Robert (Bob) graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree from CMU in Computer Science in 1979 achieving a Master of Science from another accredited university in 2005. After achieving a Bachelor of Science degree in 1980 from another accredited university, Gail graduated with a Master of Science in Administration degree from CMU in 1994. Bob and Gail established this scholarship to provide a "second chance" to students who demonstrate financial need, are former foster children, are first-generation students, are sole-parents or from a sole-parent household, or who have documented adversity in their life that has been overcome (i.e., incarceration, drug or alcohol addiction, etc.).  Documentation of the latter is strictly voluntary.    

Eligibility: Qualified recipients must be an undergraduate student seeking a degree in computer science and must demonstrate financial need.

Roger and Kay Lee Scholarship in Computer Science

About: Established in 2010 by Dr. Roger and Kay Lee. Dr. Lee was a professor in the department of Computer Science and retired in December 2018 with over 30 years of service.